Why Rigatoni Is The GOAT Of All Pasta Shapes

Amico Gino
2 min readMay 4, 2018

--

Pasta perfection!

Caution: Hot take below.

Rigatoni is the GOAT of pasta.

As a kid I fell in love with Rigatoni. Maybe because it was often found on the table at my family’s dinners as the go-to in terms of pastas to be paired with hearty red meat sauce of course, but after eating pasta for nearly 34 years I can safely say it is the GOAT of pasta shapes.

Let me explain…

The name Rigatoni is in reference to it’s ridged and lined surface. It is common in southern Italy and also can be found in central Italy as well. I have no official statistics but I can assure it is arguably the top pasta used by Italian Americans in the United States as well. It’s also fun to say!

Why the GOAT status?

Because of it’s shape and size. It’s perfect.

The way it is constructed allows for any sort of red sauce (I’d suggest a bolognese style, rabbit, or wild board or whatever ground meat you prefer from your local grocery store) to infiltrate it’s inside and those ridges on the outside, allowing for balance of sauce to pasta in every bite. Not to mention it’s an easy vessel for cheese to gravitate to as well. Damnit, I’m hungry now.

But seriously, if you have not tried rigatoni you are missing out. Do it today for lunch, or tonight for dinner…you won’t be disappointed. Prego!

--

--

Amico Gino

Musings and rants from an Italian American infatuated with all things Italia.