Amina Zafar
3 min readMar 1, 2019

Maximize Productivity With The Pomodoro Technique:

The Pomodoro Technique was invented in the early 90’s by developer, entrepreneur, and author Francesco Cirillo. Cirillo named the system “Pomodoro” after the tomato-shaped timer he used to track his work as a university student. It’s methodology is simple, when faced with any large task or series of tasks, break the work down into short, timed intervals (called “Pomodoros”) that are spaced out by short breaks. This trains your brain to focus for short periods and helps you stay on top of deadlines or constantly-refilling inboxes. With time it can even help improve your attention span and concentration.

During my Amal Career Prep fellowship , I came to know this technique .I didn’t hear about it before. When I learn first time this activity I really feel weird. This activity is really helpful, It tells how to reward yourself through little things by achieving something without pending your work. In my online course I was assigned by a project of Eat that Frog with a Pomodoro.It really sounds weird.

The following steps will help you to conduct this experiment:

1. Decide on the task to be done.

2. Set the pomodoro timer (alarm) to 25 minutes.

3. Work on the task until the timer rings. If a distraction pops into your head, write it down, but immediately get back on the task.

4. After the timer rings, put a star (or a tick) on a piece of paper.

5. Take a short 3–5 minute break.

6. Repeat steps 1–4

7. After you have 4 ticks on your paper, you can take a longer break (15–20 minutes), and continue working on your task by going to step 1 until you complete your task.

Applying this technique I decided a task to read the 2 research papers on genetic traits in early maturing cotton variety, which was pended by me for many days, then I set the Pomodoro timer (alarm) to 25 minutes, I stick on the task until the timer rings. Meanwhile during studying article, the gratification monkey jump into my mind and make me distracted, and l started thinking I should have to eat something or drink some water but when I see towards laptop screen the time was running and I again started to read till the timer rings and I put a star on paper and take some 4–5 minutes break.

This experiment was not difficult for me, it was quite interested and it help me to do my work in limited time without distraction. I will definitely apply this again regularly in my daily life as it will help us to our work in time without any delay.