Booking an Appointment Using Selenium and Telebot in Python — Part 1

Amir Moradi
The Startup
Published in
4 min readAug 24, 2020

--

In this tutorial, I want to share my experience in creating Appointment_Bot, my first telegram bot for an automation task. Here, I suppose that you are not familiar with bots and their atmosphere. Still, you know to code in python and, more important, you have ambitions in discovering the new world of web scraping and sharing the results of your analysis in some social media like Telegram. Now, I dive in code explanation, and I want to tell you why Appointment_Bot? Let’s go.

During 2019, I decided to continue my study and research as a Ph.D. student. So, I got an admission of Electrical Engineering. Meanwhile, at the beginning of 2020, the world faced a global problem, COVID 19 pandemic. If you have tried to get an appointment for Biometric, you confirm that the website is awful in its speed and showing different errors during the date booking process. This is not the whole story. On the other hand, appointment times are opened suddenly, and if you are not ready for the booking process, you will lose the battle (It means that the website is not friendly with phone’s browsers and you should have access to a laptop or PC).

With the help of *Appointment_Bot*, users open their Telegram and start the booking process in their smartphones. The bot gets the required information and logins into the user’s account. Then, it passes all steps to reach the final calendar of open days for an appointment. During the process, the bot notifies the user if it gets any error, or passes…

--

--

Amir Moradi
The Startup

Ph.D. student | Passionate in Deep Learning, Reinforcement Learning, Image Processing, and Web Scraping for Data Analysis.