Honesty Can Make You Sexier Than You Think

Amir Yawari
5 min readJul 11, 2020

--

(Disclaimer: The language used in this article may not be suitable for all audiences)

As kids we've all come across the saying that honesty is the best policy, there is a lot of truth to that statement, but what they didn't tell you was that honesty can make you sexy.

A study conducted by Jeetendr Sehdev, a branding expert and professor at USC, asked 10,000 men and women from Asia to Australia on what makes someone sexy.

Surprisingly enough. honesty was found to be eight times sexier than intelligence. Keep that in mind next time you go up to your crush and brag about your IQ.

This study, apart from making me believe that core values like honesty are still alive and that humanity is not as fucked up as I think it is, it also made me wonder why, why is honesty so sexy?

I mean, going up to your crush or potential partner and admitting that you like smelling your own farts, how can that be sexy?

Image credit: https://imgflip.com/i/47xplj

It didn't take me long to realize that honesty is not just one quality. It represents many other outstanding traits that a person might have.

In other words, honesty is not just about being a truthful person and telling the truth.

It Takes Balls To Be Honest

In Jeetendr Sehdev’s study, the second sexiest characteristic of an individual was found to be courage while honesty was listed at the fifth spot.

Why am I mentioning this, and why should you care that courage has the badge for the second sexiest character?

Well, as mentioned before, honesty is much more than just telling the truth.

I think we all can agree that if an individual (Paul) does not have a lot of courage because he fears that his crush may go out and tell everyone, “Paul likes smelling his own farts”, he won't be very honest with his crush in the first place.

That’s because it takes courage and balls to be honest.

And since honesty is a clear sign of courage, it makes sense to be genuinely honest if you also want to come across as courageous.

Honesty Promotes Boldness

Picture this, if Paul actually tells his crush that he likes smelling his own farts, what do you think his crush will respond with?

“Oh my God, you're so honest, I think you're so sexy!”

or,

“What the hell?”

It’s obvious, she is probably not into guys who like smelling their own farts but I think we can agree that she will surely give it to Paul for his boldness.

Photo by Steve Harvey on Unsplash

You must be wondering, “Is bold any good then?”

Well, it’s not just “good”, being bold makes you invincible, or at least makes you seem like you're invincible.

Being bold shows that you don't give a fuck about how people perceive you.

It also proves that you don't care about others’ approval and that you are comfortable being yourself.

This makes you literally invincible to all the bullshit that is destined to come your way once you start being more truthful and open about the fact that you like to smell your own farts (okay, enough with that joke.)

But the good thing is that people will eventually respect you for your confidence and your ability to not give a fuck where everyone else around you is just trying to “fit in”.

Most people who exaggerate their lavish Kardashian lifestyles on Instagram or tell all kinds of lies to people about how awesome their lives are, and my favorite, when guys brag about how many girls they've slept with, this all goes to show how much they care about other people’s perception of them.

So much so that they feel ashamed of their true identity and present themselves the way that they are expected to be seen by people.

Photo by Brian Kyed on Unsplash

Honesty shows that you have balls, it proves that you don't care about winning the approval of people, and even if they judge you, it won't affect you which goes to show that you are a bold, courageous, and sexy badass.

On the other hand, a person who is faking it all is a little bitch because he is afraid that people may not see him in the way he wants to be seen and this shows his insecurity and lack of confidence which is very unsexy(I know that's not a word but I still used it because I DON’T CARE.)

Everyone is not going to accept your bluntness, but let's face it, it’s also very unrealistic to expect everyone to like you and never question you or why you like smelling your own farts.

Honesty is Simply Awesome

There are many things we do in our lives, not because we want to do them but because our friends, parents, or society wants us to do them.

We make ourselves unhappy in this process just because we don’t have the courage of being honest and saying NO where necessary.

Yes, honesty is going to be tough but it will make you awesome.

I have a decent following on my Instagram where I post funny videos and I don’t want to brag or anything but I built a good following of about 8000 followers (much better than my previous ones) in a span of just about 5 months, all from scratch, and the way I was able to do this was by being brutally honest with my followers.

Instead of posting pictures of myself wearing nice clothes like everybody else, I’d go out of my way and show myself at my absolute worst (wearing tank tops with shorts or underwear), where people would post pictures of only the nicest dishes they’d have, I’d post an Instagram story showing that I was enjoying “Thaafak e Aaloo” (boiled potatoes).

Surprisingly enough, people started talking about how awesome I was, while I was just being honest and being me.

Hence, it doesn't hurt to be titled sexy, bold, and awesome, just at the cost of being honest and admitting that you're not perfect.

--

--