MY FIRST WEEK EXPERIENCE IN WOMEN IN TECH

AmishaBisht
3 min readFeb 17, 2022

--

Well, this is the first time I’ve written my experience with something so I hope you like it! I’m Amisha Bisht, a computer science engineering student who has come to do some work experience here.
After being a. IT student I’ve never made anything, which is why I ended up here so most of the stuff here is very gaining for me.

This week was a really good start to my work experience: I’ve learned a lot and enjoyed it so far. I’ve been working mainly with tech but there are some more departments to learn with, which is making my experience here even better. I met with our mentors, and they’ve taught me various things regarding their jobs their experiences, and more which I greatly appreciate.

So it all started 7th February 2022 with an orientation session with Hyperverg, Coloredcow, and Tech4dev team they organized everything so well. With an introduction, they embarked on the program, we played some games to warm up the orientation. In the session, we’ve got brief ideas of what we will be doing throughout the WIT program and we also found out about our mentors and peers. It was a really fun and interactive session.
At the end of the session, the selected ones were divided into groups for the rest of the months, I was really happy with my mentors and team members.

Moving forward to the next day we had a “Meeting with Mentors” and “Smart Goal” sessions where we met our mentors who were Pankaj and Ruchira and they’ve been a great help, there we discussed our goals, our vision, and what will be achieved through this program. They both created a very comfortable and friendly environment for us, that was an enlightening session for all of our team members.

A glimpse of our meet your mentor session

From the next day, Pankaj solely mentored us, we shared our daily progress through meetings and spreadsheets. Every morning he used to come up with a new task for the day and suggested the optimized way to complete it, he’s been amazing all over. None of us were familiar with how real things work, he help us, taught us, and explained to us how agile works and how indisputably we gonna make it! We never felt astray under his mentorship.

We had a power skill session once a week where we were introduced to our third mentor Nidhi she was very generous and illuminating. We addressed how communication and confidence are two important pillars
for an interview, for the daily hustle and where not. We’ve seen the new paths to solve any problem or the right way to approach any problem whether it is in tech or our daily life.

We had daily stand-ups, show and tell segments with our mentors which were one of the amazing times of the day.

I enjoyed this week although it was tiring, I learnt so much! I remember the few days I was asked several times what I wanted to get out of this. I wasn’t sure what to say, I just wanted to learn a bit here and there but if I was asked now I would have a clearer answer: I want to know more about the working environment in places like this, get a clearer idea of what working life is like, and even something that would help me in university or my placements in these upcoming years. In sort, knowing what lessons to extract from lots of information and synthesize it to remember the most important things.

Here’s where my blog ends but before doing so I would like to thank all of those who have helped me and taught me so much- especially the mentors I learnt so much from them and looking forward to more.

Thank you all for having been with me this week!

--

--