My meeting with Miss Paavini Nanda

amiya abraham
2 min readSep 16, 2018

--

Yesterday was a bad day which turned to be good.We had classes and other activities. I was really exhausted after that so that I almost forgot my meeting with Miss Paavini Nanda ,a GHCI 18 scholar.

When I joined the appear meeting,Paavini and Bhairavi Shah introduced themselves.Bhairavi and me expressed our desire to contribute to open source.Paavini shared her experiences about contribution to open source,motivations for doing so, time management tips etc.

Both Bhairavi and me were surprised to hear how she manages to do her open source contributions even during her exam days.The four opportunities she suggested to us were:

  1. FOSSASIA
  2. MOZILLA
  3. SYSTERS
  4. GSOC

I really liked a thing Paavini told in between :

Everything matters on how you could manage time.Find some time for doing something other than your usual studies.

As a whole it was an inspiring session.Actually she uplifted my mood.Thank you Paavini.

The only problem we faced was the network connectivity.Three of us had to join the meeting again.

This is the screenshot taken by Bhairavi during our meeting.With this meeting I got in touch with Bhairavi also.

I am so thankful to WIT Learning Community and Arya Murali for giving me such an opportunity.I am looking forward for the followup sessions with Paavini Nanda.

Major takeaways:

  1. Manage time.
  2. Never think you are inferior.Begin with small steps.

--

--