My Second Call with Miss Paavini Nanda

amiya abraham
2 min readSep 23, 2018

--

My second call with Paavini Nanda was scheduled on 24 th September 7 pm as she was travelling to US.At 6:57 pm itself,I was ready for the meeting.When I logged in for the appear call,I was surprised to see Paavini Nanda already joined the call.She asked me how my previous week was.

Then we talked about applying to Outreachy.Soon Bhairavi Shah joined the meeting. We were discussing about the task which Paavini gave us during our first meeting.It was to contribute to an open source project.Both Bhairavi and I contributed to open source by creating wiki pages-she created a ghc wiki and I created a Mozilla Internship wiki.

Paavini told both of us to take part in Hacktoberfest which begins at October.Then we asked her about how she was feeling during her stay at Houston.Later I asked her about her hobbies.Paavini told us that she is interested in Badminton,Table tennis and Basketball.Wow!

Then we asked her how did she prepare for RGSOC.RGSOC application usually starts at the mid of January.She told that she along with her friend were able to do 5 PR(pull requests) merged within the application deadline with the help of their mentor.Now they are working on RUST.

Paavini was planning to do a twitter live to share her experiences at GHC 2018.She was also excited to meet Nikitha soon.

As Paavini was busy,she left the meeting at 7:30 pm and both Bhairavi and me were chatting for few minutes after that.We talked about tasks,exams and so on.We finished our chat by 7:45 pm.The meeting went well because three of us never faced the network issues as we had during our first call.

Major takeaways from the meeting:

  1. Be punctual.

Even though the meeting was scheduled on 7 pm, Paavini was there by 6:57 itself.

2.Seize the opportunities available.

Apply for the opportunities available.

I would like to thank Paavini Nanda to sharing her valuable time with us and Arya Murali for giving me opportunity to give me such a wonderful mentor to us.

--

--