GSoC’19 with CCExtractor Development

Amit Kumar
3 min readMay 10, 2019

--

image source: Internet

Hi folks

I’m Amit Kumar, people usually call me opensource evangelist but officially I’m an undergraduate at Indian Institute of Information Technology, Kalyani major in Computer Science and Engineering. I’m really excited about, this summer that I’m a member of the prestigious Google Summer of Code ’19 program. My proposal for GSoC’19 under CCExtractor Development has been accepted and I’ll be working to make open source version of Amazon’s Rekognition APIs services.

image source: Internet

My love for opensource ❤ is since a long time and here on Medium platform, I will be sharing my all technical learnings, approaches, and experiences gained throughout this cool summer.

A glimpse of past attempt in GSoC : mistakes to learn from

So, I came to know about this prestigious program sponsored by Google in late 3rd semester of my academic career. I started figuring out more about GSoC in the starting days of January 2018. I was very much interested in projects which included Deep learning / Python particularly. I searched for some of the previous project's archive available on GSoC official website to start contributing. I found some organizations which had projects inclined towards my interest and started going through the project’s code base.

Don’t be panicked at first glance of the project’s code base. Start from fixing firstcomer bug or raise issue if you find any bug and give PR for that as well if you can fix it.

if you find any bug and finding it difficult to get started with it. Google about it, collect more information about the bug, visit StackOverflow, Discuss with project maintainer or mentor. Avoid asking very general question to the project mentor. While asking doubt try to be as much as specific and precise about the bug. Be familiar with at least basic use of git, you may find this link useful. You may really find a great no. of online resources around these topics.

While selecting projects, I came across Mozilla’s autowebcompat project. This project was a part of GSoC’18. I was very much excited about the project. I started discussing about the project with the mentor. I started solving the issues. With no time other contributors also joined and I was becoming like a more competitor than a contributor.

OpenSource is all about constructive collaboration of all others not like other competition. The better understanding and more meaningful contributions you have into the project the higher is the chances that you will be selected for it.

and finally, in 2018, it turned out to be an unsuccessful attempt to GSoC’18. Again this time 2019 , I was more confident about myself. I had more experience in tech skill sets I was expecting to work on. I again started searching for projects and came across a new project Poor Man’s Rekognition under CCExtractor Development. I submitted my proof of concept for the project. Yeah, This time I made it. I’m really very much thankful to Carlos Fernandez Sanz who gave me this opportunity and a few of my close friends who have always seen a +ve side of mine and boost confidence. I’m really very much excited for this summer to work upon this project.

You may find the GitHub repo link for the project here .

Stay tuned and you may connect with me on LinkedIn and Twitter :)

--

--