Job Seeking while WOC in 2020

Katie B.
10 min readFeb 29, 2020

--

Tech Inclusion 2020 will focus on equipping people from underrepresented backgrounds with the tools and skills to grow as leaders. To contribute my personal perspective to this focus, I wanted to chronicle my personal job search journey as a woman of color in the US in 2020, including a list of themes and resources I found most helpful along the way. The list is made up of three core topics:

  1. Job Search Strategy
  2. Choosing a New Work Environment
  3. Staying Focused, Motivated and Organized

Job Search Strategy

image source: knowyourmeme.com

Once I knew I was facing a new career transition, I spoke with a colleague who provided emotional support and acted as a sounding board in discussing the importance of creating a job search strategy by setting a routine and structure. Independently organizing in the absence of a full time job is necessary for staying on track during the job search. With the help of my work friend, I drafted a strategy and began to implement and continuously refine my schedule and Weekly SMART Goals.

Examples:

Setting these goals and structured practices during this transitional period in my career was inspired by the insights I formed after making many mistakes during my previous job search. For instance, when I moved to New York City on a whim during my mid-twenties, I attended so many free public workshops, classes and networking events that I would sometimes accidentally attend the same event multiple times. My pitch was a little complicated too — and I realized this by receiving feedback that my pitch was unclear. I found the lessons from the missteps I had taken as I gradually built my career in my twenties, and used them this time to make positive change (with some help from coaches and peers).

Choose a New Work Environment

image source: canva.com

After setting up a game plan, I knew I had to secure a workspace that would help me become my most productive during my job search. Reflecting again on my last time in transition, I knew that staying at home to work would not be conducive to my productivity. While some people like the idea of a home office, I knew that if I constantly worked from home I would procrastinate, become demotivated and grow lonely as the self-identified “ambivert” that I am. Also, while the idea of frequenting cafes was slightly appealing, thinking about the cost of a single cup of coffee in San Francisco AND guesstimating how many cups of coffee would justify my all-day visits dissuaded me.

With all of this in mind, I decided to invest in a membership to a co-working space. Co-working spaces are the popular new alternative to working in a standard office, library, or café, and there are many options available in big cities like New York and San Francisco, from the ones with a niche social impact focus (i.e. Impact Hub), to those with a target demographic (i.e. The Ruby SF, The Wing), and those with a more broad focus (i.e. WeWork). When I was choosing which co-working space to join, I made sure to do my research to carefully select a space that would best meet my needs and fit my budget.

Staying Focused, Motivated and Organized

Once I had my plan and my workspace together, I knew I had to keep a steady momentum as I gradually learned how to balance my freelance and volunteer projects (writing and coaching) with the job search. As I went about the hunt, I experimented with different tools to keep organized, reflecting on what worked for me and what did not.

Project Management Tools

  • Productivity Management Apps: Using Trello and Asana was occasionally helpful for project planning, though I sometimes found that I would neglect to update these tools and utilize them fully.
  • Google Suite: While I found this to be useful for shared documents, I personally formed a preference for saving most spreadsheets and word docs to my Desktop. When it comes to Google applications, I do find myself to be most loyal to Google Calendar, though (for meeting and event planning, time blocking)
  • Tomato timer: As an easily distracted millennial, I like the idea of a tool that is designed to keep you focused by creating a specific time limit to get things done. However, as easy as it is to use, it is just as easy to forget to utilize it. As an alternative, I have kept track of the time myself, and listed any distracting thoughts that may come up in a small notepad next to me to come back to later.
image source: canva.com
  • Journals & Planners: The Passion Planner appealed to me as a way to keep everything organized in a very thorough and thoughtful template. (Also, shout out for supporting WOC-owned businesses!). However, time blocking in this physical planner seemed to multiply the work that I already did to plan in my Google Calendar. While I love the idea of using my creativity to design my own planner/journal combo with the Bullet Journal, I found this method to be ultimately time consuming. Rather than setting this up for a full year, I found myself reverting to the Passion Planner, implementing just a few ideas from the trial version of the Bullet Journal that I created. To be honest, I sometimes still find myself going back and forth on which method I prefer most… but that’s OK — I let myself be flexible with this, though I am consistent with one method on a week by week basis.

Connecting with Others (Find Your Tribe)

image source: canva.com

As tempting as it was to self-quarantine, buckle down and churn out a million applications during my job search, I understood the importance of building a community and sustaining my network. This understanding is partly what motivated me to join a co-working/community space and attend events regularly. As mentioned earlier in this article, in the different stages of my career, I would actively seek and join Networking events and online communities, using platforms like Eventbrite, MeetUp, [Public] Slack Channels, [Public] Google Groups and [Public] Facebook Groups. I would also be open to conversations in less conventional spaces like public parks or car-shares, when they came naturally. At some point, I even began hosting events and established my own accountability/resource group where job seekers could support one another. Going through the job search can feel incredibly challenging and isolating, and staying connected with other people really enables you to access both mutual support and emotional wellness, which is required to do your best work.

Find a Coach, Mentor, or Sponsor

As I embarked on a more mindful career transition, I found that working with a Coach, Mentor or Sponsor is a bit like therapy for your work life. While I did have access to the career centers during my college years, I did not find the services provided at my universities to be sufficient at the time. I especially felt this way while completing my Masters degree because I was an international student. Upon deeper reflection, I realized that perhaps being older (nearing my 30s) put me in a better place to receive services that would help me with my Career Development. After acquiring more “real world” experience and insights, I possess more of a knowledge/skills/abilities (KSA) base and self awareness to work with. Having an outside perspective was incredibly helpful for my professional growth, and I still utilize the workbooks and activities (i.e. The Clifton StrengthsFinder) I was provided over time.

Some of the places where I found resources for coaches and mentors included JVS, General Assembly (workshops by coaching start ups like HireClub and WorkWell), the WEST Mentorship program, and the San Francisco Public Library.

Working with Recruiters and Staffing Agencies

If you find yourself in a rut during the job search, it can be helpful to work with a Recruiter or Staffing Agency. Finding the right Recruiting and Staffing agencies for you will take some research. Websites like Forbes and Albert’s List [of Recruiters]* have plenty of resources that can help you find your best fit(s).

*Albert’s List is Facebook group that is also the host of many other helpful resources

Establishing Work Life Harmony + Practicing Self Care

image source: canva.com

The importance of self care, including making time for breaks/rest, personal hobbies, and having social life, is tremendous during the job search. While there is no magical equation that works for everyone, and it is naturally challenging to strike a perfect balance, I’ve learned about a handful of quick and easy practices for self care:

  • Affirmations for coping with the stress of a job search (as inspired by WorkWell)

Say or write these statements down:

My current job status/title does not define me

I will soon find a job that is the right fit

I am aware of my talents and strengths, and recognize the value in my skills

I will choose an opportunity that will enable me to fully utilize them

I am aware of my values in a workplace, and will not lower my standards or compromise my boundaries

I have set a solid strategy in place for this job search, and can make adjustments as needed I will allow myself to take breaks and take care of myself

I will stay connected to my communities during the job search

  • Exercise for 30–60 minutes.

Whether it’s a brisk walk outside, a yoga class, or hardcore bootcamp/HIIT class, make sure to fit in some physical activity. Doing so will help alleviate stress, keep your body healthy, and rejuvenate you.

  • Treat yourself!

Everyone knows this line from Parks and Recreation. Treating yourself can be whatever you want it to be and whatever is reasonable for you. It doesn’t need to be a luxurious spa day or binge eating expensive chocolate, especially if you are on a budget. Find the thing that is within your means that truly brings you joy, and reward yourself with that when you meet the goals you set for yourself during the job search.

  • Take care of your mental health (and don’t be afraid to ask for help)

Whether you are currently a job seeker or not, I advise utilizing resources for your mental health. Finding a mental health professional in your area is easy with websites like the Psychology Today, Better Help, Joyable, and Talkspace. A few great culture-specific resources for BIPOC include Therapy for Black Girls, Therapy for Black Men, Therapy for Latinx, Brown Girl Therapy, and the National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association.

Job searching in 2020 can be a doozy. While it is easier to stay plugged in and apply for countless, exciting opportunities, the process is more competitive and time-consuming than ever and there are more questions to consider when it comes to “culture fit”.

At present (February 2020) unemployment in the US is at a low, new job opportunities are emerging constantly, and there is frequent movement of “transplants” globally (especially to large cities full of opportunities, including San Francisco and New York City). While there is constant talk of a potential recession on the horizon, and pressures of obtaining a Full Time Permanent job that pays living wage (with full benefits), staying competitive in this job market and landing anything close to your ideal job could feel daunting and nearly impossible. That said, during your job search, remember to take care of yourself while doing your best to remain patient, curious and realistic. Make sure to map out your job search strategy with intention, and consistently take action that will help you stay competitive in the job market. As long as you continue to refine your process and put yourself out there, utilizing the support and resources that are covered along the way, you will do well in establishing your next opportunity in 2020.

*POST-PANDEMIC ADDENDUM*

One short month after publishing this article, the COVID-19 pandemic changed the world as we know it. The public health crisis has since claimed millions of lives and spurred a massive economic crisis. 2020 rapidly brought a slew of additional challenges on top of the pandemic, including social and environmental issues across the globe. Needless to say, the year became one of the most challenging years for many — and it put many more people in the position of “job seeker” again.

While a considerable amount of hurdles have come up for job seekers in this time of chaos that we call the “new normal”, adaptations were made. Networking opportunities and job interviews went completely virtual. More job opportunities adapted to being partially or completely remote. Communities circulated new resources to help support the unemployed (including HireClub’s Unemployment Guide and spreadsheets like Candor’s Airtable list of COVID hiring trends). Job seekers also sought out opportunities to upskill while sheltering in place, joining bootcamp programs and taking online courses. More people even started their own businesses or took on new freelance ventures.

While the future continues to look uncertain, the ways in which people have adjusted during hard times is truly inspiring. Since my original time of publication, I am happy to share that I was able to secure a full time role as a Career Coach while growing my own coaching side business. While myself, many people I know (clients, colleagues, loved ones), and dozens of people outside of my bubble have encountered many difficulties during this time, I am deeply moved and motivated by the strength and perseverance of people, and am especially awestruck by their success stories in spite of it all.

image source: herplaceisin

Katie B. is a Career Coach and Freelance Writer with a passion for all things related to Culture and Diversity.

--

--