A Love Letter to Photography

Anthony Saso
3 min readJun 24, 2022

--

Dear Photography,
You deserve to know just how much you’ve impacted my life. A life where I find meaning in experiencing its untouched beauty each day, treasuring every moment, and never forgetting the amount of awe and wonder that exists in our world. A life where I find joy and love in my little family tribe, within my team at work, and within the societies in which I interact. Where I see the awe and wonder within the gifts the world has to offer; the expansive forests, the breathtaking waterfalls, the sweeping mountain ranges and open meadows, the beautiful wildlife that is so different to us and yet so similar.
Photography, you’ve allowed me to craft these experiences into timeless moments to treasure for the rest of my life and for others to treasure after me. You empower me to capture heartwarming moments of my family at home, allowing me to relive them once my kids are all grown, seeing their smiles, laughter, and energetic joy filling our house. You join me through my traversing of the world, seeing the waterfalls I see and the gorgeous forests I hike through, effortlessly capturing their timeless beauty. People worldwide deserve to experience life like this, and you are what allows this experience to be shared. Those who aren’t as fortunate can see the wonders of life or understand the joy that can be grown in a family. You allow these marvels and lessons to be captured and given back.
Photography, not only do you capture the meaning of life, but you magnify it back to the world and remind everyone that meaning is out there. I may not have quit my day job for you, but you aren’t about money to me. You are so much more than a tool to make money. You are a window in which both myself and the world can experience the wonder, beauty, and joy that is out there. You’re a window into meaning.
I love you.
Anthony Saso

Horsetail/Firefalls, Yosemite
Moon Shot at Daylight, RF100–500
Yosemite Valley, Tunnel View
Hawaii Firedancers
El Captain, Yosemite Valley
Burney Falls, Burney CA
Yosemite Valley, Off Tioga Pass
Rainbow Falls, Mammoth Lakes

--

--