Finally, you can see the Developer Console and inspect the DOM on mobile

Amy Bridges
2 min readMar 23, 2018

--

On the quest to becoming a full fledge web developer who works off android devices soley has been a struggle due to application support limitations on android devices. My biggest hurdle though was i did not have a console logger or dom inspector on my mobile device.

I felt hopeless on being able to ditch my macbook pro for my samsung tab a (sm-t580) to do web development on. I searched for countless hours with no results on anything that would help me overcome my biggest issue.

WHAT WAS MY BIGGEST ISSUE FOR ANDROID WEB DEVELOPMENT?

My biggest issue was i had no console logger or dom inspector, Chrome Dev Tools only works on a desktop computer. I wanted to ditch my computer not have the bulky thing sitting around to do one task.

The runtime libraries for desktop software don’t tend to play so well on a non x86 architecture. Which left me with no web dev tools, or so i thought.

ANDROID MOBILE WEB INSPECTOR IDEA

I started asking myself what if i could create a mobile application that had a console logger and dom inspect, editing tools for Android to overcome my biggest workflow issue. The answer was simple. Yes i could, so i did.

How many times have you been working on a website or had a client reach out past business hours while you were out for a night on the town to only find out you needed to pull out your laptop to check a website issue?

I know i have ran into this issue a lot myself and now it’s no longer an issue for me.

DROID WEB INSPECTOR 1.2 FEATURES

  • Console Log
  • Live Edit HTML
  • Inspect Dom Elements
  • View Network Resources
  • Caching Disabled by Default
  • Clear Cookies

Download from Google Play Today!

--

--

Amy Bridges

Creative, passionate, accomplished and knowledgeable Freelance Full Stack Web Developer with over 8 years of experience.