Confessions of a Self-Improvement Junkie

Amy Boyer
3 min readMay 9, 2017

--

Hi, I’m Amy and I’m addicted to self-improvement. It all started about five years ago when I went through a terrible breakup that just about wrecked me. I was flying home from my friend’s wedding and in the airport, Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project jumped off the shelf and into my hands. I didn’t know what I was getting myself into, but I devoured it, and started a Happiness Project of my own. That project lasted about six months, but it totally transformed me. It opened my mind up to theories that I would have previously scoffed at — in fact I HAD scoffed at them! A couple of times in my life before this, several people had tried to get me to read A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle and it all sounded like mumbo jumbo to me, so I passed. But now, I’m living that mumbo jumbo and I see life in a whole new way.

I’ve recently made the decision that I would like to be a life coach of sorts, specializing in habits and goals. I’m looking into what program will best suit my needs, am working on publishing a daily planner/journal, and am writing articles here! Most of what I plan on writing here will be practical, tactical tips and tricks for habit building and goal setting. But before we get into all that, I wanted to take the time to introduce myself and get some things off my chest, because I want to be totally honest and transparent with you guys! So here we go…

Confession #1: I haven’t actually read any Eckhart Tolle

I know, I know, I KNOW! He’s like… the Godfather of self-improvement! Would you call yourself a movie buff if you’ve never seen the freakin’ Godfather?! Probably not. But here I am. And even though I haven’t read A New Earth, I’ve heard it referenced in so many books and podcasts that I know what the mumbo jumbo is. It’s on my list, I promise.

Confession #2: Working out is not working out and pizza is my kryptonite

I hate working out. And I love pizza. I know these are common “problems,” but they make me feel less than capable sometimes. We all have those habits that we just can’t kick or we just can’t maintain, but I want you to know I am not giving up. I am working on figuring out what works best for me, and I hope you’ll stick around for the journey.

Confession #3: I have a terrible memory

I forget authors. I forget book titles. I forget who I had that conversation with. I forget the point of the story. But I will always do my best to point you in the direction of where an idea sparked from. And I want you to feel free to correct me if I’m wrong.

Confession #4: Instagram is my boyfriend

Oh lord, the things I could do with all the time I spend on that silly little app! But…it makes me happy, so I allow myself the vice.

Confession #5: I’m not a perfect person

As seen above. And in many other ways that I didn’t confess. But that’s okay! And I’m not trying to be perfect. I’m just trying to be my best self. We can always be better.

--

--