Takedown Tuesday

Amy Fang
4 min readJul 31, 2018

--

One of my favorite places on campus is in the basement of Building 32, and it’s called the Stata Loading Dock. Most of the stuff that research labs and departments throw out go to the loading dock before they are taken away, which means that the loading dock has become a literal goldmine for any and all of an electronics hobbyist’s needs. Most of my friends use computer monitors scavenged from here, and I’ve come across many refrigerators, telephones, microwaves, and air conditioners that are still both functional AND in great condition. In short, Stata Loading Dock is one of MIT’s greatest, not-so-secret treasures.

Since the start of this summer, my hall friend Ben S. 20’ and I have started making weekly trips to the Loading Dock not to find usable electronics, but to take them apaaaht. Inspired by EEVBlog’s “Teardown Tuesdays”, we have lovingly named our own dissections Takedown Tuesdays, and have thus far taken apart an inkjet printer, lecture hall projector, electric keyboard, and flat screen scanner. This past week, we took down a Keurig Coffee Maker.

I can distinctly attribute my growing fascination with figuring out how things work to 2.007 (Design and Manufacturing I), a class I took my sophomore spring. As a mechanical engineering student, this was one of my first classes that was completely hands-on: we were each instructed to design/prototype/assemble a robot to perform a variety of tasks, and the class culminates in a huge flashy competition at the end of the semester. Although I spent nearly *all* of my time on this class this past semester, I ended up scoring nothing at the competition, which was frustrating and unnerving to say the least. HOWEVER, 2.007 is still my absolute favorite class I have taken here because 1. I learned so so much by doing, 2. I found my passion for design and thus have a clearer vision for my future, and 3. I now see and understand the world in a completely different way. Every time I come across an appliance or product, instead of taking it for granted, the first thoughts that now pop up in my head are, “How was this assembled?” and “Why did they use these materials?” and, most importantly, “How does this work??”

Lucky for me, the Stata Loading Dock exists to satiate my curiosity. Without further ado, here’s a brief recap of our latest #Take#Down #Tuesday, where I put my 2.007-catalyzed knowledge to the test.

Ben S. 20’ scopes out today’s digs. Our current contenders are a pink landline phone and rice cooker.
Look at all that cruft. isn’t it beautiful!
This check valve ensures that liquid flows in one direction by utilizing the force of pressure. More specifically, the spring (attached to a wall) will be pushed in whichever direction the fluid flows, which can either seal up or open the valve.
This pointy metal part punctures Keurig cups AND has a hole to release hot water. The thin metal tongue below is what causes the “click” noise when the cap closes. This is because of the metal rod hitting the tongue’s valley, which is also why the cap feels secure once you lock it down in place. The metal rod also acts as a pin joint which rotates with the cap!
Limit switch indicates to the machine when the cap is open or closed! You probably don’t want the Keurig to spew hot water when it’s open… what great safety measures.
One WEENY air pump that gets the fluid to where it needs to go. All this black plastic was injection molded, you can tell because the injection mold pins leave behind circles on the (uniformly thick) black plastic.

And that’s it! For reference, unlike many of my peers, I didn’t do robotics or much hands-on engineering in high school. Taking apart a Keurig is something I wouldn’t even have considered as fun back then. But this is why I am even more grateful to 2.007, for making me realize that design and manufacturing are a lot less intimidating than they seem. For giving me confidence to know that I am capable of constructing functional, moving, beautiful things. For urging me to find answers in the the everyday objects around me (like this one!). I used to question myself, but this class assured me that I am on the right track and exactly where I need to be, studying something that I love. Here’s to many more Takedown Tuesdays.

If you are interested in learning more about design, manufacturing, and the ilk, I found Alexander Slocum’s (MIT MechE Professor) FUNdaMentals of Design Notes and Charles G. (ex-2.007 TA) How to Build Your Everything Really Really Fast Instructable to be fantastic starting points! Let’s never stop learning. :-)

--

--