No One Asks the Skinny One

Amy J. Wall
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readNov 5, 2019

--

Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

Last week I was at a party with a group of friends. We were all standing in a circle in the kitchen. At one point the conversation turned to weight loss. One friend explained that she is a believer in the paleo diet. She lost ten pounds in a few weeks. Another friend said she loved the grapefruit diet and had lost quite a few pounds with that. It was clear that they all found ways they could lose weight but were all there still talking about needing to do it again. I couldn’t help wondering why they never asked what I do to stay thin. I’ve been the same weight for 25 years, give or take 5 pounds here or there (BMI between 18 and 19).

Perhaps they thought I am one of those “freaks of nature” who can eat whatever they want and don’t gain a pound. Maybe they thought I don’t experience the same struggles with food. Or maybe they thought I would judge them for their struggles.

Here’s the thing. All are untrue. I have to be careful about what I eat, or I will gain weight. It is a struggle for me, especially in a culture that is set up for us to be overweight. As far as judging other people, I don’t pay much attention to weight issues in myself or in others. In fact, I’ve felt judgment about my weight. I’ve had people comment when I’ve put on a few pounds, or make comments about what I am eating.

--

--

Amy J. Wall
In Fitness And In Health

All American & ranked 1500 meter masters runner. SDSU XC/Track alum. Write about running, health & well-being. Editor at Runner’s Life. amywallauthor.com