10 Places to visit from Almada(Lisbon South Bay) Portugal!

Ana CS
4 min readSep 5, 2022

--

Welcome to the journey!

Hi this is me :)

I always had a taste for adventure, for visiting new places, doing new things, eating new things and learning new languages. Maybe this has to do with the fact that in my childhood I wasn’t very free and wasn’t allowed to experience much from the world but I can say nowadays I for sure have a thirst for discovering the world!

Ever since I started working I finally started to travel! I am from Portugal. I am not from Lisbon(the capital) though I was born there. But I lived in a place that is in the Lisbon Metropolitan Area, so it was somewhat close to Lisbon.

I can say I lived in Almada (a nearby city to Lisbon, separated by a bridge) my entire life. More precisely in a place called Cova da Piedade, a former civil parish in the municipality of Almada. I no longer live in this place.

Almada was the nearest cool place where some young people went to skate, go McDonald's and occasionally there were some parties with concerts like at the end of the year, the Reveillon, there were some bars, and a theatre.

There was also a big shopping mall that eventually came to be, called Almada Forum with a movie theatre, a gym and plenty of stores and restaurants. There were also the white sand beaches 20m away!

Before I start you can totally stay in Almada for the cheaper accommodation and travel to Lisbon daily! I just recommend you avoid the rush hour, so staying up late and waking up late is actually good to avoid rush hour in this case.

You can use Uber to go back home from parties in Lisbon if you stay out until 3 am, for example, any hour is ok! There are also trains, ferries and buses! The public transport end at about 2 am and work again at 6 am. Almada is very safe! No worries about security! I would say is safer than Lisbon.

I can recommend these places in Almada, from years of experience:

1.Cacilhas — Near the water, lots of cool restaurants and a nice view!

2. Cristo Rei — Big statue of Jesus Christ. Inspired by Brazil, a statue in Rio de Janeiro.

You can go up there if you want or just stay on the surface, the whole place is a cool place to visit with a nice view!

3. Costa da Caparica — amazing beach with lots of hotels in there, restaurants, some stores, and beach/restaurant bars!

4. Panoramic Elevator of Boca do Vento

Here there is also a very popular restaurant with an amazing view called Atira te ao Rio.

5. For shopping, you can go to Almada Forum, which is fairly big and has all the popular stores, movies and gym.

6. Parque da Paz, a nice park for exercising and walking in nature

7. Casa da Cerca is a very pretty place to visit as well with a great view!

9. Street R. Cap. Leitão Very popular Street, lots of restaurants and bars!

10. Praça São João Batista

This is probably the most central place of all Almada! This is also where mcDonalds can be found!

Thanks for reading and Happy Travels!

--

--

Ana CS

A fellow developer who loves traveling, her pets, games and gardening!