Analy Osuna
2 min readApr 18, 2016

What are some examples of how you, as a secondary teacher have tried to pull these three expectations together? What are some of your successes or challenges

As an English teacher, in an LTEL class, I have encounter different challenges when trying to incorporate academic language. Sometimes students do not want to do the work and are disrupting, and because of that, the time I have in practice is less. With that said, when the class is ready to learn, I do repeat backs, physical movements, pictures, and practice in conversations.

When it comes to literacy, in order to make it more interesting, I incorporate current events and relatable topics. Students respond better when they are interested in what they are reading. I have found that the previous mentioned are very important on top of scaffolding the reading before they read, for a better internalization. When I give my students a reading, I scaffold,as needed, per student. I have seen that this works every time due to the fact that they can talk about the reading with confidence. I appreciate the students patience when the reading becomes tedious or a tad difficult. I understand that students study and are seated for 6 hours 5 days a week, it can be difficult and boring.

Finally, when I choose my contend, I first identify the skills I want them to learn and the goals I want them to master. Then, I try to make my lessons interesting and dynamic in order for my students to be alert.

Teaching students is a challenging profession, but if you have the passion for what you teach and for student’s learning, you will be successful.