5 Random Acts of Kindness

Anam Fatima
3 min readJul 30, 2019

“Carry out a random act of kindness, with no expectation of reward, safe in the knowledge that one day someone might do the same for you.” — Princess Diana

Being kind is really a splendid feeling. If you show kindness by helping others, it gives you inner satisfaction. You will be more happier if you show generosity towards others.

I have done 5 random acts of kindness which are as under:

  1. Gave Respect

If you give respect to people, then they will also give you respect. Today when I was going to my department, I saw my Head of Department coming from another side. As I saw him, I stop walking and wait for him. I let him to move forward. While he was passing, he stopped and give me very nice gesture by smiling and saying thank you.

2. Donated Money

Once I got a scholarship from my academy. I decided to give to the most needy person in my area. I went to her home and donated money to her. She was very happy. Her great smile gave me happiness. I was very pleased after doing this kindness.

3. Helped my mother

Now a day, I am very busy in my internship and I don’t find time to help my mother. Last weekend I helped her in cooking. I cook food with her. Then I also washed utensils. Then I cleaned all the rooms. This kindness reduced the burden of my mother.

4. Listen Intently

In my workplace, I listen to my line manager intently. As it helps me to better understand and perform the assigned tasks well. If you listen to someone with great attention, it means that you are very kind to her.

5. Visited the sick

Last week, I went to my neighbor’s home to visit the sick women. She was suffering from high blood pressure. She was very much tensed about some personal circumstances. I motivated her a lot. She felt relaxed and thanked me for coming. Her calmness proved that I was successful in motivating her.

“Unexpected kindness is the most powerful, least costly, and most underrated agent of human change.” — Bob Kerrey

Through all the above experiences, I have learned that if you want to be happy in your life, then make someone else happy without any expectations and rewards. Their happiness will automatically give you so much comfort that you can’t imagine. In our jobs, we have to be kind in our teams. It is really important as it motivates others. We can show kindness in our team by respecting others, giving a smile, listen carefully, greet them etc.

--

--