Docker, a journey

Shweta Ranjan Anand
2 min readOct 13, 2021

--

-to install and hopefully run

It’s been half a day now and I want to finally let it be downloaded and running for any sake. Common on, it can’t be that difficult. I have seen several tutorials and read many solutions for my problems and I think now is the point to begin again from point zero. You ask why? coz sometimes things start working when you look from the starting :)

Firstly, the documentation reading again:

  • Installing Ubuntu
  • Installing wsl 2

So this time it didn’t work and I tried installing and following tutorials for three days but couldn’t make it happen. My laptop had some issues of its own. After correcting those, it worked!! hurray, the feeling of this finally being able to work out was amazing after days. I thanked the guy who helped me with this.

These videos really helped, follow them in order to install and run it:

and also I had to switch off my firewall for it to work, its very important but I just had to do it initially many time, now I don’t need to do it though.

Just to summarize for anybody downloading it,

First download and see on wsl 2 has been set up nice; do see the 1st video link above and do install its update, here.

Then download Ubuntu’s latest version, though you can download any other Linux distribution as well, I’ve just worked with this one. Make profile there (username and password, which you won’t be able to see though remember what you wrote), also don’t forget to make sure Ubuntu has wsl 2 as its default, these are mentioned in video but I am just making sure to have all the boxes checked which helped me.

Then only download Docker and run it. This way you won’t have any problem making docker work.

I am so excited to finally be able to get Docker work on my system.

For any queries, you can ask me, I’ll try my best to help :)

--

--