Project 1 : Laser Cutter

Dylan Anderson
3 min readFeb 5, 2020

--

My name is Dylan Anderson, a 4th year student at the University of Minnesota studying architecture and product design. I wrestle for the university which takes up a majority of my time outside of classes, but in my free time I enjoy skateboarding, rollerblading, climbing, and furthering my design skills.

IDEA 1

The first thing I thought of building from the laser cutter is a replica of my childhood home. Inspired by this model I saw in a slide presentation on the first day of class, I think something similar of my house would be a great gift to my parents who are considering moving out after 16 years of us living there.

The first step to creating my house in this medium is to dimension the floor plan and elevations. Since my house is old and there aren’t any blueprints around, I’ve started this process by measuring all the walls and openings at home, and translating them to AutoCAD.

N ^

The next step for this would be to create the elevations so I can begin planning what to cut into acrylic.

IDEA 2

Thinking in a product design realm, I think it would be a fun challenge to design a catch-all tray, desk organizer of some sort, or another object focused mainly on form. By making a product where its function is as basic as possible, I can focus on form and its manufacturing process. Flat pack products might be cool to explore with the laser cutter.

IDEA 3

I thought a backpack or carrying case was a great idea of Anna Van Voorhis’, but was disappointed she didn’t follow through with it.

I am in need of a carrying case for all my design/art supplies, that is easy to put in my backpack and easy to access all the supplies I need.

--

--