B2B Designer

Joe Anderson
1 min readApr 11, 2020

--

I’ve always wondered what other designers at B2B SaaS companies are learning on the job. After being a founder/designer for more than 8 years, a lot of the content I read felt geared towards the early days of learning how to design. When I visited sites like Hacker News and Designer News, the content also felt too technical or too focused on the visuals. It was like I was reading the same design articles over and over, before I stopped even reading them at all.

As I run my own SaaS company, I’ve learned more about sales and marketing first-hand. I’m slowly seeing how design intersects with these fields and I feel there’s a lot of little details that you learn on the job that can be hard to learn elsewhere.

I wish there was a place to learn how other designers are using their skills to:

  • impact business models
  • generating organic growth through product design decisions
  • segmenting prospects with pricing page design
  • shortening the sales team’s closing rates with sales enablement material
  • helping marketing drive more qualified leads
  • reducing customer support tickets even with complex product interfaces

These topics aren’t sexy to most designers but I hope to find more people like me that do find it interesting. If you feel the same way, it would be great to hear about what you’d like to learn and who you wish you could also learn from. Sign up to the newsletter to stay up to date when new content is published.

--

--

Joe Anderson

Helping the marketing team with design thinking at Realm. Follow me @Anderson760