№34 Jews Love Hamilton

Andrea Askowitz
4 min readJan 25, 2019
Photo by Jordhan Madec on Unsplash

I don’t know where I’ve been for the last four years since Hamilton became a theatrical sensation, but until I saw it two weeks ago, I didn’t know the cast was made up of people of color. I knew it was the story of Alexander Hamilton. I knew there were some rap songs. And I knew it was crazy expensive. I also knew it was supposed to be a great show.

My brother’s family had all seen it and my nieces sang the songs whenever we got together. My sister-in-law saw the show four times. She said it was up there with Wicked, which is my all-time favorite musical. My family loves musicals. My immediate family can’t sing for shit, but my brother and I grew up singing show tunes. We know all the words to The King and I, Cats, Oklahoma, Les Misérables, Hair.

Hamilton became popular in my daughter’s circle, so for her 15th birthday, I plunked down $350 a ticket and took her.

I was drawn in from the first song. I’m no history buff, but I got into how these guys had the audacity to beat back the Brits and create a whole new country. I was fascinated by the vulnerability of each character — characters I’d learned about in elementary school. Burr was insecure. He felt left out. Hamilton was a cheater. Also, I’m no rap fan, but I got caught up in the beat.

My daughter and I cheered when we won the revolution. Then we cried when Hamilton’s son…

--

--

Andrea Askowitz

Books: My Miserable, Lonely, Lesbian Pregnancy and Badass. Essays: NYT, Salon, The Rumpus, HuffPost. Podcast: Writing Class Radio. www.writingclassradio.com