A Potato Chip Taste Test (Taylor’s Version)

Andrea Squiccimara
4 min readJun 21, 2022

--

I am my family’s emissary to the supply chain insofar that I do most of our grocery shopping. It’s truly a mighty responsibility to obtain snacks for all occasions but during various weather events and Covid spikes, it’s of great importance. We suffer snack burnout but we always love a potato chip, especially in a “novel” flavor. The local to us Herr’s is our preferred brand and Ripples Original Flavor and Sour Cream and Onion are our preferred varieties. When Herr’s releases a new flavor, I make it my business to have an opinion about it as soon as possible.

In 2020, they released a Mystery Flavor where chip connoisseurs were tasked with discerning the flavor of an essentially unmarked bag. As a family, we sat in silence eating individual chips, trying to separate the nuances of each flavor. We decided on a mix of vinegar, sour cream and onion, and barbecue and nothing could convince us otherwise.

Last fall, Herr’s promoted a “Flavored By Philly” contest to design a flavor that encapsulates the spirit of Philadelphia. My knowledge of the contest coincided with the release of Red (Taylor’s Version) and I felt imbued with independent woman energy from the music and roasting my hot but mean ex on Twitter, that I sat myself down and brainstormed my ideal Philadelphia flavor.

As a lifelong Philadelphia adjacent suburban resident, I have eaten my fair share of cheesesteaks and knew that the submissions would be replete with variations on the theme. However, the Philadelphia flavor that captures my attention more than any cheesesteak is a roast pork sandwich. I also had to give Taylor co-creating credit because I listened to Red (Taylor’s Version) twice by the time I finished my edited-to-fit the character limit submission. I couldn’t have done it without her.

Andrea’s Roast Pork Sandwich Potato Chip (Taylor’s Version) is a savory, smoky pork flavor with fennel seed, roasted tomato and the sharpest provolone cheese known to the Delaware Valley on a thick ripple chip. I pictured a chip flecked with seasoning that perfectly echoes my favorite roast pork sandwich. Beautiful, right? A winning potato chip flavor, if I’ve ever heard one!

Much to my chagrined surprise last week, I did not win. How could this be? I had to know what could possibly be better than the Andrea’s Roast Pork Sandwich (Taylor’s Version)!

The “Flavored By Philly” 3-pack (now out of stock) I impulsively ordered arrived at my home within 48 hours. Yes, the immediacy made me feel silly but I’ve already come this far. The winning flavors 215 Special Sauce, Long Hots & Sharp Provolone, and Wiz Wit came slightly warmed from the delivery vehicle which was a nice touch to the experience. Each bag had an artist’s statement on the back which honestly made me emotional — true literature. The only thing that would have made me love them more would be if 6 ABC’s Jim Gardner read the submissions. Action Jim doesn’t retire until the end of 2022, so this is still possible!

Pictured: Flavored by Philly 3- Pack, Courtesy of Author

In keeping with our family practice of eating a new potato chip, individual plates for single chips were arranged and we tasted each flavor. This is a deeply serious undertaking.

Four clear glass plates are arranged on a brown table with a small knife on the left. Three rippled potato chips are on each plate, one red, one orange, and one pale yellow.
Potato Chip Taste Test, Courtesy of Author

Taste Test Results

215 Special Sauce: a bright red special combination of ketchup, hot sauce, salt and pepper. I’ve never experienced this sauce in the wild because I live in the suburbs and I’ve never had the opportunity. I wanted it to taste like All Dressed Chips, a rare flavor in my neck of the woods but it was MUCH bolder. I liked the ketchup and vinegar taste but immediately folded under the hot sauce and pepper as I am a delicate flower.

Long Hots & Sharp Provolone: An aged cheese with a vegetal, spicy pepper on the back end. As a professional consumer of sharp provolone, I can say this attempt falls short. A real sharp provolone should provoke a visceral response from other people in your immediate space. It should elicit at the very least a Joey Lawrence “Whoa!” The long hot flavor should have more spice. I could taste the pepper but only in the way I could taste a pepper held up to my face from across the room. All I want is more from this flavor.

Wiz Wit: An onion forward and orange cheese chip with a meaty finish, inspired by Philadelphia’s signature sandwich and the “correct” way to order it. Personally, I am against cheesesteak gatekeeping but I do appreciate the simplicity of the shorthand. American cheese is my preferred cheesesteak cheese but an orange Wiz is a fine choice!

Additional Notes: One 215 Special Sauce and Whiz Wit eaten together is an appreciated flavor experience. Perhaps these two flavors should be combined to round out a cheesesteak experience.

My Winner: I cannot actually select a winner due to my hurt feelings and potato chip democracy isn’t going to change my mind. However, I would be most likely to purchase Wiz Wit in store because it delivers the most vérité flavor.

This is in no way sponsored by Herr’s.

Herr’s, don’t be mad at me!

--

--