Andrea Lockwood
2 min readFeb 6, 2021

Photo: Pixabay.com

In the NEWS today, I just found out a shocking story.."A Canadian fashion mogul accused of sex trafficking women to his estate in the Bahamas has been denied bail before his extradition hearing to the U.S. Peter Nygard has been in jail since his arrest Dec. 14, 2020, and is awaiting an extradition hearing to New York. Nygard has been arguing for bail since January. A date for the extradition hearing has not been set."

This news blew my mind not only that he was a very well known successful Canadian fashion designer, but because I was in one of his fashion shows! Yes, the memory is rushing back to my mind now. It was around 1996 when I was a young aspiring model in Toronto. I was chosen to be in his fashion show and excited as this was my first major fashion show for a well known designer.

I remember showing up with my model friend backstage in the dressing rooms. We were shown what clothes were 'ours' to wear for the evening. Then we all lined up on stage to meet him...Peter Nygard. He was this mature older confident man who was in charge of every small detail. And there was one detail I will never forget. He told all of us that we were not allowed wear underwear, which meant no panties or bras under the clothing that we had to model. I thought this was very peculiar, maybe I could have understood no bras in case it was a terrible bra, but panties? No, that just didn’t seem right. So I decided against it and still wore as I knew there was no way that he could possibly find out, right? I felt like the rebel model.

After the fashion show ended, I was slightly relieved as I was able to keep my lady briefs on and had not been found out. What would he have done? Go around checking underneath our clothes to see if we did or did not? I did think how odd it was.

Back to today, after finding out about his arrest, my mind went straight back to that moment....maybe he was some kind of pervert to wanting all the models to strut the catwalk with no undies and bras. And was he ever looking at us in a perverted way as we modeled his clothes? I will never know but I did feel a repulsed at the possibility....

Andrea Lockwood

I am an entrepreneur, a mother, pet mama, and wannabe writer. If you wanna be my lover, wanna be your friend, make it last forever, then our friendship....