What Does a Revolution Look Like?

Andrea O'Ferrall
5 min readAug 24, 2022

We have to stand up together.

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

by Andrea O’Ferrall

I don’t know exactly what the next revolution will look like. I’m not a historian. I haven’t studied deeply what they’ve looked like in the past and I don’t know that we can even do that to predict the future.

Looking Merriam Webster's dictionary I see it’s definition d) I’m looking for “: a fundamental change in the way of thinking about or visualizing something : change of paradigm.” That’s the kind of revolution I’m thinking about.

I might not know for sure what the revolution will like like, but I have a few ideas.

A couple of years ago I saw a video on YouTube made me smile. A woman in England (I think she was with Extinction Rebellion) went into a store, purchased her items and then proceeded to take each one out of its plastic packaging. She ripped open a bag of cookies and gently laid the contents in her cloth bag. The same for the other dozen or so items she had purchased. I don’t remember her words exactly, but something like, “I really want these food items but not the plastic. So I’m going to just leave the plastic here for you to deal with.”

I’ve looked for the video many times since and had no luck. I find the memory of it extremely inspiring. What if we all did that? Imagine supermarkets filled…

--

--

Andrea O'Ferrall

I quit my elementary school teaching job to become a full-time climate activist. Writing, organizing, educating, protesting, and persisting.