Meaning Behind “Evergreen”

Andreas Braz
1 min readDec 17, 2015

--

[Cue random photo of evergreen trees I found on the internet.]

Living in New Hampshire, I was surrounded by these beautiful, tall trees. Green being my favorite color, I’ve always been drawn to nature, specifically botany. The Evergreen is by far the most fascinating and symbolic tree in my opinion (not trying to diss any other trees because they’re all beautiful). These trees always retain their greenery, even through the winters. I’ve always associated winter as death. I’m not trying to sound morbid, but it really is that time of the year where everything, well, dies. However, there are the Evergreens, who biologically manage to maintain their beauty no matter what the season. I’m so drawn to them because not only is green my favorite color, but they manage to survive through anything. These trees are the definition of adaptability which is something I’ve had to do all my life. I’ve always been more of a summer kind of individual, so moving from Florida to New Hampshire was not an easy transition, trust me. Trading a year-round, subtropical climate to short summers and harsh winters with extreme temperatures and the beautifully annoying snow was not ideal. Thus, I had to become evergreen.

--

--