Childhood Memories

When Being Bored Was Not an Option

Andre Begin
3 min readJun 26, 2023
A street sign indicating “children playing”
Photo by author

It is a beautiful summer day. The sun is shining and the birds are singing. Mother Nature has really outdone herself in the beauty of the day she has provided today.

The windows are open and I am enjoying a great cross-breeze flowing through the house as my cat snores away on the couch. It is one of those ultimate moments of calm and serenity.

Then the moment is interrupted when I hear one of the neighbourhood kids, through my front window whining, “I’m booooooored”.

Maybe it’s just me, but that declaration is like fingernails on a chalkboard.

I understand it is a different time, but one of the most vivid memories of childhood was that being bored was not an option, no matter how bored you were. Being bored was illegal in 1974, wasn’t it?

Keep in mind that back then, on Sundays, EVERYTHING was closed. We only had one TV and only 12 channels, but of course Dad had control of it, and it was tuned exclusively to the sports he wanted to watch. So if I wanted to see anything else, I was out of luck. Period. No negotiation.

We had bikes, playgrounds, neighbourhood friends and convenience stores. We also played with rocks, mud and our imaginations.

--

--

Andre Begin

Writer, blogger, humourist and screenwriter, sharing stories about writing, running, rural life, playing butler to a high-maintenance cat and more.