Socrates and Steve Jobs: A Dialogue on Technology and Life

André Ferretti
4 min readJan 29, 2022

--

Steve Jobs is famous for saying that “I would trade all of my technology for an afternoon with Socrates.” What happens when you ask GPT-3, an AI that uses deep learning to produce human like-text, to re-create a conversation between Socrates and Steve Jobs?

STEVE JOBS: I’m really interested in the way that you think about things, Socrates.

SOCRATES: It’s not complicated, really. I just question everything that I hear and see.

JOBS: But don’t you ever feel like you’re missing out on something? I mean, doesn’t it ever bother you that you don’t have all the answers?

SOCRATES: No, of course not. That’s the whole point — there are no guarantees in life. The only thing we can do is keep asking questions and exploring new possibilities.

JOBS: But what about when things go wrong? What do you do then?

SOCRATES: I accept that bad things happen sometimes, but I also know that everything happens for a reason. There’s always a lesson to be learned from difficult experiences.

JOBS: That sounds like a pretty positive attitude to have.

SOCRATES: Yes, it is important to stay positive and hopeful in the face of adversity. After all, nothing is ever certain in life — we may not get what we want, but we can always find satisfaction in what we do have.

JOBS: That’s a really interesting way of looking at things. I’m going to have to think about that more.

SOCRATES: I’m sure you will. After all, learning is the most important thing in life.

JOBS: So, what do you think about my new iPhone?

SOCRATES: It’s amazing! I can’t believe how much technology has progressed since my time.

JOBS: Yes, it’s really incredible how much we can do with just a few taps on the screen.

SOCRATES: But don’t you ever worry that technology is taking over our lives? That we’re becoming slaves to our devices?

JOBS: No, I don’t think so. I mean, sure, people can get addicted to their phones and tablets, but that’s not really the fault of the technology. It’s more a problem with people being unable to control themselves.

SOCRATES: Well, I’m not sure I agree with you there. I think it’s important for us to be aware of the dangers of too much technology and to find a balance between using it and interacting with other people face-to-face.

JOBS: I can see your point, but I still think that technology has a lot of benefits. It can help us connect with people all over the world, and it can make our lives a lot easier.

SOCRATES: Yes, I agree that there are some benefits to using technology, but I think we need to be careful not to let it take over our lives.

JOBS: Do you think we’ll ever be able to create artificial intelligence?

SOCRATES: I’m not sure, but I think it’s possible.

JOBS: Really? Do you have any ideas about how we could do that?

SOCRATES: Well, I think it would be important for the artificial intelligence to be able to learn on its own. It would also need to be able to communicate with people and understand their feelings.

JOBS: That sounds like a really difficult task! But I guess anything is possible if we put our minds to it.

SOCRATES: Yes, I think we should always be exploring new possibilities and trying to learn as much as we can. After all, that’s the best way to make progress in life.

JOBS: Do you think there’s a meaning to life, Socrates?

SOCRATES: I’m not sure, but I think it’s possible.

JOBS: Really? What do you think the meaning of life could be?

SOCRATES: Well, I think it’s important for us to try and find out what we’re meant to do in life. And I also think it’s important for us to help others whenever we can.

JOBS: That sounds like a really good way to live your life. But don’t you ever worry that you might not be able to find the meaning of life? Or that you might not know what you’re supposed to do?

SOCRATES: No, I don’t worry about that. I have faith that things will work out in the end.

JOBS: Do you think there’s an afterlife, Socrates?

SOCRATES: I’m not sure, but I think it’s possible.

JOBS: Really? What do you think the afterlife might be like?

SOCRATES: Well, I think it would be important for us to be able to continue learning and growing even after we die. And I also think it would be important for us to be able to reunite with our loved ones who have passed away.

JOBS: That sounds like a really beautiful idea. I’m going to have to think about that more.

SOCRATES: Yes, I think it’s something worth thinking about. After all, the afterlife is a mystery that we’ll probably never solve. But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t keep exploring it anyway.

JOBS: Well, I think we should probably wrap up this conversation now. But it’s been really great talking to you, Socrates.

SOCRATES: Yes, it has been great talking to you too, Steve. I’m sure we’ll talk again soon.

Let me know what you think by leaving a comment or texting me — I’m always curious to get your feedback! :)

--

--