I did a 90-day writing challenge — what I learned?

André P. Rosa
2 min readApr 11, 2024

--

A couple of years ago I tried something I thought it would improve my writing and also challenge me as a writer: a 90-day writing challenge.

This challenge was, basically, just writing every day for 90 days straight. 3 months of intense content creation!

As you can imagine, those were 3 exhausting months! I knew it would be a challenge. In fact, that’s what made it exciting (in the start…), because a 7-day challenge would be easier, and the all point was for it to be a real challenge!

Every day, I had to do research, to write and to edit a new article. There were no excuses…

One of the biggest lessons was discipline. I had to create a system that worked for me so I couldn’t miss one day or even distract myself. Writing was my priority!

Second, I learned that consistency is key. To be a writer and develop a personal brand, I would have to show up and be there. The one who doesn’t show up is forgotten!

On the other hand, consistency doesn’t have to mean showing up every single day. Sometimes it’s just a few times a week or even on a weekly basis. That was one hard pill to swallow.

I also realized that writing a new piece of content every day was impossible! There’s no way I could create valuable content and with quality if I didn’t take breaks of writing with attention. I was producing express content and focusing on quantity versus quality.

However, even with all the ups and downs, those 3 months were a real challenge — that was the goal. There were many days when I didn’t want to write, I didn't have any ideas, I was tired, and so many other reasons. But I stayed consistent, and strong and proved myself I could do it.

This was a brief story of how I did a 90-day writing challenge.

I think it was really important for me as a writer and I’m thinking about doing something similar any time soon…maybe with different “rules” and specifications.

What about you, have you ever done any kind of writing challenge? Tell me about it!

About me:

I am a 25-year-old Marketer focused on Inbound Marketing, Content marketing, and Copywriting. I have worked mainly in the B2B market and I share my knowledge and journey in the Content Marketing world, such as Social Media and Copywriting tips.

Want to connect? DM me on LinkedIn.

--

--

André P. Rosa

Digital Marketing & Content Writer. Passionate about Inbound Marketing, Copy and Content Writing