Mentoring

Andrew Stromme
1 min readApr 14, 2017

--

I want to make mentoring a habit, but I don’t know where to start. Ideally it looks like this:

  • There’s a way for me to contribute content that might be broadly useful, like the story of getting a job at Google, publishing a research paper, or how I started caring about dense urban cities.
  • I replace my daily facebook and news time, instead learning about what my mentees and potential future mentees are up to.
  • There’s a larger, weekly, chunk of time for 1:1 interaction over video chat or in person. It doesn’t necessarily have to be the same person every week, but it should be something that repeats so I don’t just meet with someone once.
  • There’s a feedback system that helps me become a better mentor and my mentees become better mentees.

If this resonates with you, or you know of something like this, please reach out. I’d love to chat.

--

--

Andrew Stromme

Product Manager & Founder writing about place & transportation. Lyft, ex-Google.