Blockchain Beginners: A speaking engagement

Andrew Tayo
2 min readDec 12, 2017

--

Speaking at Deciphering ICO’s, Dec 6th at General Assembly, 114 Whitechapel High Street, London

I had the pleasure of being invited to speak at the Blockchain Beginners event, that was intriguingly titled; Deciphering ICO’s. In all fairness in terms of educating the crowd, about what ICO’s were, the feedback seemed to be that it delivered.

There was a crowd of 250+ cryptocurrency enthusiasts at various stages of development in their crypto lifespans. So, in the midst of beginners, enthusiasts and businesses pitching their ICO’s, I expanded on my experience as a recent but fully committed cryptocurrency adopter, and my experience in researching and investing in various ICO’s in that timespan. I used this opportunity to explain what I deemed to be the benefits and the risks that are associated with this new form of business fundraising.

In the midst of all the excitement and fuss, I actually forgot to share my contact details in my slideshow, so although I still managed to make some brilliant connections, I’d imagine those who were left wanting more weren’t really given the opportunity to connect in a more meaningful way.

What I found so encouraging is that we seem to progressing well into the ‘mainstream adoption’ phase of Blockchain technology. We seem to have moved beyond the early adopters dispensation and now cryptocurrency is increasingly gaining momentum and credibility in the view of the general public. The fact that 250+ people are interested in using cryptocurrency to make investments in new companies is pretty amazing. I am truly honoured to be a part of this evolutionary milestone.

--

--

Andrew Tayo

Founder at Subbit | Entrepreneur | Thought contributor and speaker on The Tech Economy & Blockchain Technology