Thinking of Larry Storch, who died yesterday at age 99

Andrew Bassano Brewer
2 min readJul 9, 2022
The cast of “F Troop”, 1965 (ABC Television); Photo is in the Public Domain

Actor Larry Storch (above, on the right, in the gray hat), probably most well known for his role in the 60’s comedy F Troop, died yesterday. He was 99 years old

I had the pleasure of meeting him many years ago and he was a lovely man . . . back in the early 80’s, I worked for a hott minute as a model — it was during this time (shocking that male models in the 1980’s were often gay) that I came across a life style I knew nothing about before

and during this time I started going to gay bars and had gay roommates and their friends were all creative dudes who did creative things and . . . long story only sort of long

I ended up as the trophy wife date to several gay men who took me places, especially plays and the opera, etc and it was on one of my “dates”, that I went to see a play starring Larry Storch

my date was the costume designer for several local theatre companies, as well as Ballet Met and Opera Columbus (who tried, unsuccessfully, for about a year to recruit me for his Chippendale knockoff dance troupe)

as an aside, I was a VERY prudish gay man, as I never did anything, at all . . . but evidently I was pretty enough (at least 40 years ago) to be worth the effort to chauffeur me around knowing I definitely wasn’t gay

--

--

Andrew Bassano Brewer

Clairvoyant, film actor, unicorns playmate -- also voted "One of the Top 50 Psychics in the World" . . . www.andrew-brewer.com