The Shortest Tesla Model 3 Ownership Experience

Andrew C
3 min readAug 19, 2018

--

**Problem resolved 09/03/18: Suspecting that moisture got into the computer from below the windshield, the service center replaced the main computer and resolved the issue FREE of charge with great customer service.

One of the happiest days in my life came on July 24, 2018, when I finally got the baby I was waiting for more than 2 years!

Everything was a dream — the jaw-dropping spaceship-like silent acceleration from 0–60 (more like 20–70mph when the acceleration was the fastest), the amazing autopilot that significantly increased the driver experience and road safety, and the super thoughtful UI and cellphone entry that revolutionizes the auto industry.

The dream lasted about 22 days. On Wednesday August 15, I got in the car in the morning and noticed the turn signal no longer make the ticking noise. My audio system was also off, and there was no internet connectivity.

Thinking that the system needs a reboot, I went to the Controls section on the screen and hit “Power Off”. That was the last time I saw my screen on. By the time I get back to the car during lunch break, the car could no longer turn on the screen. The display was completely black, I had no AC, and no info of gear shift. Surprisingly I was still able to drive the car and shift gear in blind, just with no screen. I have attempted the system restart numerous times by pressing both buttons on the steering wheel, but it did not work.

I contacted the Tesla Roadside Assistance team, who were very helpful and responsive in dealing with the situation. They called in a tow truck for me and took the car to the Service Center, and a very responsible service rep became the point of contact for me throughout the process.

I was able to pick up a loaner Model S for the duration while my Model 3 is in the shop, and Tesla arranged my Lyft transportation to get to the Service Center to pick up the loaner car.

As of Friday, I was notified that my situation was escalated to the Corporate Engineering team. And I have no ETA of getting the car back yet.

While it was truly a dream owning a Tesla Model 3, I wish the dream was never interrupted. Please believe that it hurts my heart writing this article, as I am a true loyal fan to Tesla and Elon. But as a honest consumer, I thought it is a social responsibility to let people know this.

P.S. If you’re interested in reposting my article or pictures, please respectfully source it accordingly.

Coming up: Tesla Model 3 — National Park Ready!

--

--

Andrew C
0 Followers

An engineer who’s passionate about technology, innovation, and human interaction.