Building a Creative Life

I’m at the beginning of a journey to transform my life to live more creatively

Andrew Dacey
3 min readNov 19, 2019
Murder Hole Beach, Co. Donegal. Photo copyright Andrew Dacey

I’m starting on a project here. It’s not going to be a short one, but I’m hoping it will be rewarding. It’s a project to transition into living a creative life. It’s something I’ve aspired to for most of my life, but not previously had the courage to attempt.

It all clicked for me in September this year though. My partner had a college reunion in Cambridge. We turned it into a weekend trip, by going up earlier on Saturday and spending a bit of time exploring on the Sunday before coming back to London.

It was my first time in the city, and I was quite enjoying the quieter pace compared to London. We’ve been thinking about buying a house, and I began to entertain the thought of buying in Cambridge and commuting to London.
I did some research on what that living situation would be like over the next week or so. I did find some nice looking properties in our budget. I found the idea of living somewhere quieter, but that would still offer some local social activities also appealed a lot. The major downside was the commute, though, especially for where I work in London. I was going to be looking at at least a 90-minute commute each way. While I could mitigate that somewhat by working from home a couple of days a week, there…

--

--

Andrew Dacey

London-based writer and storyteller. Striving to use my personal experiences to make connections. Geek and avid tabletop gamer. With the odd political post.