Park in the Back of the Grocery Parking Lot

Andrew David Swanson
2 min readOct 2, 2019

--

Edie laughing while riding in a grocery cart.

Last week I took my two year old daughter to the grocery store with me. She LOVES the grocery store. I get to see her genuine excitement when she acts as my grocery cart sidekick. Handing her different fruits and vegetables and having her state the name and color of each item before she puts them in the cart. Followed by the scanning and bagging of every item. But the thing she loves most? Daddy sprinting with the cart and riding it all the way to our truck, her hair flying up in the air smiling from ear to ear with the sincerest of childish laughter. “Go faster daddy!”

I reflect on these moments intensely because they are so fleeting. In the short two and half years of my daughter’s existence it’s become clear to me just how many of these moments are a whisper in time. Parenthood is a sobering experience because you come to the realization that this gift that’s been given causes you to deal with the reality of mortality. Never in my life have I had as much to lose as I do now, yet I am beyond blessed to have it.

Park in the back of the grocery parking lot.

--

--

Andrew David Swanson

Father, Husband, Christian, Entrepreneur, Filmmaker, Cook, Crossfitter. Short stories from my life experiences.