Why I’m Quitting Facebook and Twitter… For Now

Andrew Lee
3 min readAug 16, 2014

The ALS Ice Bucket Challenge

I was just named in the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge by a good childhood friend. What a great marketing idea that’s created awareness for Lou Gehrig’s disease and already raised over $4 million in donations compared to $1.12 million during the same time period last year.

But I decided to pass on the ice bucket challenge and instead make a small $100 donation.

It made me think a bit about the stark contrast between the frivolity of the challenge and those that are actually suffering from ALS. I’m not judging anyone at all, I think it’s brilliant that social media is driving this tremendous response to a disease that needs attention and is completely unrelated to cat memes. It’s just my thoughts are consumed with an extended family member.

Brain AVM

She is in a hospital bed suffering from a brain injury. I don’t want to violate the privacy of their situation, so I’ll stop here and ask simply: please donate to The Aneurysm and AVM Foundation if you are so moved. I’ve just done it.

I’m quitting Facebook and Twitter for now, because I’m guilty of projecting an idyllic view of my life in social media; it’s a highlight reel. It’s hard for those not in close and regular contact to know when I’m struggling in my marriage or fighting a personal demon.

The Beach

If you’ve read or watched The Beach, the book by Alex Garland, and movie directed by Danny Boyle, starring Leonardo DiCaprio, you know there is an important scene about the ugly side of life.

For exposition, the beach itself is paradise on a secret island off the shore of Thailand, far away from the “parasites of civilization.” It’s an unspoiled utopia where they grow acres of marijuana and live off the land and ocean as a commune of international travelers with shared ideals.

There is a key scene where, (I’ll quote from Wikipedia here) “two of the Swedish fishermen named Sten and Christo are attacked by a shark while fishing in the ocean. Sten dies almost immediately and Christo is severely injured. The only options for Christo are to go to the mainland to get medical help or stay on the island and take his chances. Christo chooses to stay, not wanting to go near the water after his encounter with the shark, but Sal [tribe/cult leader] refuses to allow a doctor to come to the island. Christo’s condition worsens, consistently lowering the morale of the whole community, so they take him out into the middle of the jungle and leave him to die. However, Étienne, disgusted by the group’s decision, vows to stay with Christo.”

Staying Quiet on Facebook & Twitter For Now

For me, Facebook is “The Beach.” And life’s pain and ugliness is Christo silently rotting away in a tent, carried away from the vibrant village life, so its inhabitants don’t have to face his impending death.

So, each time I feel the urge to post or tweet a good snippet about my life, I’m going to say a small prayer for that family member. I’ve been doing that daily, along with many others in my community, since I heard the news.

As an aside, I picked up cycling on a road bike last month, and I really have not been enjoying the burn of hills and elevation on my thighs. I ask myself particularly in the climb, “why is this supposed to be fun?” But then I arrive at the peak, my eyes drink in this canvas view, and my legs are rewarded with a downhill. I’ve found myself thinking more of this family member as I struggle through those ascents. I think about how it pales in comparison to what she and her immediate family are going through. And I press ahead.

I feel very heavy just writing this, but my spirit is at peace. I don’t think this is much of a sacrifice, but it is my small token and a way of keeping focus on that family member and remaining grateful for all the blessings I do have.

--

--

Andrew Lee

citizen + entrepreneur. investor/acquiror at a samsung company. formerly @BatteryVentures @VMware. follow me on twitter @andrewdlee