How to Manage Paper and Digital Notes

Andrew George
Efficient U
Published in
4 min readMay 14, 2017

--

I’m the type that doesn’t like to start a project until I know how I’m going to organize the beautiful mess I’m getting myself into.

To give you an idea of some of the items I work on, they range from writing pieces, to film projects, photograph collections, lesson plans, and presentations.

There’s a ton of software, apps, and gadgets out there to keep things organized. At times, I felt like using them was getting complicated and away from the point of keeping things simple. The following is a list of what I found works for me and what doesn’t. Hopefully, you’ll jump into a workflow that’s productive for you sooner rather than later. Keep in mind I’m a mac user, however, some of these apps are cross-platform and are have similar counterparts.

How I Start a Project

Notes, Rocketbook, and Paper

Everything starts with an idea that’s likely jotted down. Or, maybe it’s a picture that inspires a project to move forward. I jot those ideas down in a couple of places.

Here I’m starting to gather images and ideas for a new Instagram project.

Digital Note-taking

--

--