Hiring Android Developers

My thoughts on the recruitment process

Andrew Lord
AndroidPub

--

Since starting my career as a software developer, I have been to interviews at various companies. I have, however, more often been on the other side of the process: reviewing CVs, analysing code submissions and conducting interviews. On a few different occasions, I have been asked how I think the recruitment process should be structured and what is best to look for in Android developers. These questions don’t have a simple answer that applies to all situations.

Hiring (and unfortunately not hiring) many developers across my working life has helped me to shape the way I approach it. I am by no means an expert and still have plenty to learn from others on the topic, but I believe (and hope) I have some valuable insights that may help other people hiring developers. Therefore, I will attempt to write down some different steps you could include in your hiring process. 🤔

Before we continue: Please check out the article on my blog, Lord Codes, you will find code snippets with themed syntax highlighting and much more, it is definitely my preferred way to read it! 👍

The Android interview

Reviewing CVs

This stage shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone, as obviously you will need some way for candidates to apply for the position. This is the first…

--

--

Andrew Lord
AndroidPub

Mobile Lead @WorkiroApp . Android and iOS Engineer. Author @ http://lordcodes.com. Avid gamer and music fan.