The Pandemic Hug Scale

Andrew Noske
2 min readJul 18, 2020

--

The Unofficial Pandemic Greeting Scale

This dang COVID-19 has ruined many things…. but one of the biggest thing its affected is hugs. Yes, wonderful hugs are now in question. I adore hug - touch is my love language - so for me this period of time is a little sad, but also quite fascinating.

Nothing is quite as funny as seeing two girls in a park run up to each other. Two great friends that haven’t seen each other in forever, and just before they get to each other they slow down. Running into each others arms and then… they pause. They haven’t discussed what to do when they meet! I’ve decided that an awkward hug is the new sexy. If you hug normally, it means you’re pandemic irresponsible… but if you don’t hug at all it seems cold. All those awkward huggers out there - socially untrained software engineers - now is your time to shine baby! You’ve mastered the awkward hug years ago.

And the handshake? Well I won’t miss the handshake as much, but in covid responsible countries and states the handshake is becoming dead. Maybe it will never become as popular as it once was. I love to see people “elbow bump” and “foot touch”, so in the graphic above I’ve done a humorous scale which follows on from my COVID-19 Safety Scale and looks specifically at hugs.

To see my original wiki article and more pics: https://andrewnoske.com/wiki/Pandemic_hug_scale

--

--