10 Great Books I Read in 2015

Andrew T. Gates
2 min readJan 1, 2016

--

I don’t always make an effort to read a lot of books within the year they are published, but that shouldn’t keep me from sharing the goodness of what I did read. Here’s my top ten of 2015!

10. John Darnielle, Wolf in White Van

9. Jonathan Lunde, Following Jesus, the Servant King: A Biblical Theology of Covenantal Discipleship

8. Colin Meloy, The Wildwood Trilogy: Wildwood (read in 2014)/Under Wildwood/Wildwood Imperium

7. Wayne Gordon and John M. Perkins, Making Neighborhoods Whole: A Handbook for Christian Community Development

6. Neil Postman and Charles Weingartner, Teaching as a Subversive Activity

5. Eric Jacobsen, The Space Between: A Christian Engagement with the Build Environment

4. Gordon MacDonald, A Resilient Life

3. Michelle Alexander, The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness

2. Bryan Stevenson, Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption

1. James Cone, The Cross and the Lynching Tree

I’ve written reviews on Goodreads of all these as well as the other 17 books I read in 2015. It’s hard to overstate how much the top four books in particular shaped my 2015, each a paradigm shifter in its own way. I commend them to you and hope you’ll keep challenging yourselves in the coming year. To 2016, my friends.

--

--

Andrew T. Gates

Life, theology, music, ministry, humor, scripture, creativity, and their collisions. Non sequiturs. Pastor of @BWCCLansing