What 50+ Self-Help Books Taught Me About Productivity

Getting Things Done, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, Atomic Habits, Deep Work, Essentialism, The Pomodoro Technique, Smarter Faster Better, and many, many more.

Andrii Zolkin
5 min readJul 4, 2024
a table with a laptop
Photo by Minh Pham on Unsplash

I have spent too much time on my self-help addiction.

Most of them collect dust on the shelf, as they just repeat the same exact points in different words throughout hundreds of pages.

But among all of them, at least 7–8 were truly incredible, which brought amazing insights to my life and caused me to open them year after year.

These are the main lessons I have learned from my journey:

Can’t Do Much Without Deciding What to Achieve

Behind all the major successes, there was a plan and a dream. Goals help you stay motivated, but all of it is pointless without knowing the final destination.

a map
Photo by delfi de la Rua on Unsplash

Motivation is a very volatile resource; it comes and goes; it swings up and down from day to day.

--

--