It’s a Wonderful World

Andy Sutioso
2 min readMar 9, 2018

--

I was sitting in a bench practically doing nothing. Well not nothing really, I was actually accompanying my brother sitting under the sun, getting some fresh air. He is in the process of recovering from his illness. Getting out in the open helped him a lot.

An opportunity not presented to me, to us under normal circumstances. Things I used to take for granted. No I didn’t really have many chance to spend time with my brother. Now this is a moment I am really grateful for. Now there are only me and him, two of us alone in this small roof garden.

As I watched him soaking in the sunlight, breathing in the fresh air, glancing at the blue sky — taking a small stroll back and forth among the park benches. Yes… those are also the simple things we easily took for granted. As I watched him regaining his strength back, I can not help but reflect how easily we forget the wonderful things we have around us, as we blindly chase all the worldly things that don’t really matter to us. People that are dearest to us, wonderful simple things that God has given us so that we can live our lifes: warm sun, fresh air, the beauty of nature around us.

As I typed these words into my phone, I slowly glanced to the plants growing in the flowerbed next to me. Their simple beauty jumped out at me. The different colors and textures, the shapes and the lines of the delicate veins on the leafs. Beauty I didn’t notice before.

Somehow it reminded me of the wonderful world we live in. Out of nowhere, Louis Amstrong’s heavy voice sprang out in my mind as he reminded all of us “It’s a wonderful world”.

--

--

Andy Sutioso

Very much into Holistic Education, running a small Holistic School in Bandung, Indonesia.