What’s the Right Thing to do Here?

Andy Walker
The Startup
Published in
5 min readOct 7, 2020

--

The one question that leaders ask that matters the most

Photo by Austin Ban on Unsplash

I recently got a mail from someone I used to work with in which they thanked me for giving them the confidence to do the right thing. It got me thinking. First of all I felt embarrassed because this was someone who knew their subject inside out. I’d frequently been blown away by just how on top of their product they were. Then I started thinking about the wording. “The right thing” is something I care a lot about. What had I done so that someone felt free to do the right thing?

And when I thought back to the conversations we’ve had I realised that it came down to one particular question. One which started a meaningful conversation which unlocked all kinds of benefits for both of us. If you’re a leader then you might want to give it a try.

“What’s the right thing to do here?”

When you ask this question you are sending a number of messages to the recipient:

  • You want them to choose the path forward. This question is about curiosity. Leadership is giving your people the space and support to take a path they believe in.
  • You believe in their ability to know the right thing to do. Never underestimate this. It’s not about what we should do here. It’s about what the right thing to do here is. If you know your…

--

--

Andy Walker
The Startup

Interested in solving complex problems without complexity and self sustaining self improving organisations.