Screams From The Other Side

Anthony Nelson
3 min readMay 4, 2023

--

Midnight strikes, BOOM! Cupboards slamming shut through the hour and it paralyzes me in bed not wanting to check what’s happening.

One in the morning, floorboards creaking as if someone or something is walking towards my room with heavy footsteps. It’s like whatever’s on the other side knows I’m awake and wants to send chills all throughout my body and soul.

Two in the morning… someone whistling. Not your typical whistling either. It’s the type that you hear in the movies when a serial killer is finding the right tools to kill you with.

I’m trying my best to keep calm, but there is nothing I can do to stop the absolute fear that I’m feeling inside.

Three in the morning. Knowing it’s a bad idea I still yell out “Hello? Who’s there?”. The only response I get is whispers from the other side of the door. They aren’t very clear so I gain the courage to get out of bed and put my ear to my door to make out what’s being said.

“Guess who? GUESS who? GUESS WHO?” Over and over again but it seemed as if it was a different voice every time.

“No way” I said to myself silently. Hoping this is all in my head.

BANG BANG…two intense knocks on my bedroom door. I step back more startled than ever, doorknob twisting on it’s own, and then the screams start. A scream of bloody murder that freezes me in place. I want to shout but nothing escapes my lungs.

The door has never opened so fast before and there is nothing I can see except for the wide open eyes that are staring at me with pitch black darkness all around them. As I gasped in fear, it starts to charge at me…

I wake up covered in sweat and tears running down my cheek but feeling some sort of relief. I check the time and it’s midnight. SLAM!Cupboards opening and closing, growing more intense as it repeats.

“What?” I said to myself.

“Why is this happening again? Is any of this real?”

I feel so trapped in this nightmare and don’t really have a way out. I’m begging myself to wake up but as time goes on, the deeper I sink in this abyss. All I can do now is close my eyes and wait. Not even a minute passes and I hear the door opening. Unable to open my eyes, I hear the sounds of footsteps coming closer and closer to my bed. I feel something grab my face and force my eyes open.

There it is again, the wide open eyes just staring at me. Horrific screaming begins to happen inches away from my face and there is nothing I can do to help myself get out of the restraint of this dark entity. Its hand covers my mouth and nose so I have no way to breathe. The hope of any escape starts to fade away.

I think to myself, “Is this the way I die? Am I going to just suffer until I’m finally gone?” Tears filling my eyes as this monster says, “It’s time to go”.

Everything turns to black, I wake up again to the sound of cupboards viciously breaking by how hard they are getting slammed and I check the time and once again it’s midnight.

“What is happening?” I asked myself, “Is this what hell is like?”

As I hear the screams from the other side, I come to the realization that I might be already dead and I’m just reliving the night I died over and over.

BOOM!

I wake up, sounds of struggling and screaming from the outside of my room. I check the clock and once again…”It’s time to go.”

--

--

Anthony Nelson

Just a guy full of fiction and ready to share it with the world. It’s cool if you don’t like it but amazing if you do!