Confessions of a lazy PM

Product Management is often portrayed as a career for geniuses or work obsessed people. I’m none of those.

Antonio Neto
5 min readApr 1, 2022

My wife is currently engaged with the plan of becoming a Product Manager. She is studying, making her first interviews for jr positions and, as almost all of us once did, thinks she won’t be able to handle the challenge.

“I’m not nearly ready compared to what you were when you shifted to product”, she said once. Funny enough, she already knows a plethora of concepts I was completely ignorant about by the time I got my first position. You can say I improvised for the most time during my early days, and it wouldn’t be absurd to say that I have to wing it sometimes even to this day.

Despite repeating over and over to her that Product Management is no rocket science, that the core concepts of the job are simple and that tools and frameworks make your life easier but are not mandatory, she doesn’t seems to be convinced.

So let me try to convince you.

You only have two jobs

Agile rituals, discovery, A/B testing, story writing, data understanding, prioritization… none of that is your job. I mean, yes, it is your job, but that is not the key value you are delivering to your team or to your…

--

--

Antonio Neto

Product Manager dealing with backend SaaS products since 2018