A Father’s Dilemma: Choosing Between Love and Betrayal

Angela Cook
3 min readMay 13, 2024
Photo by Garrett Jackson on Unsplash

My name is Jay, and I’m 40 years old. I’m a high-ranking executive at a big company. My life is peaceful and busy, without any waves. My only pride and happiness are my wife, Peg, and my son, Teddy.

Peg and I were college classmates, and we fell deeply in love, just like in the movies.

However, our family backgrounds are different. I was born into a wealthy family, while Peg is an orphan from a rural area.

My parents strongly opposed our relationship, thinking that Peg wasn’t good enough for me and was only after my money.

We ignored their opposition, got married secretly after graduation, and didn’t tell anyone.

We started our tough life, renting a shabby apartment, and I found a good job while Peg became an assistant manager at a company.

We didn’t have any extravagant hopes, just wanting to go back to my family and get my parents’ acceptance.

A year later, our son Teddy was born. He’s a lovely boy with big eyes and a round face, bringing us endless joy and hope.

When my parents found out, they finally acknowledged us and let us move back home.

However, as time passed, I discovered a puzzling fact.

--

--

Angela Cook

I'm a writer on a mission to captivate hearts and minds with my engaging content here on Medium.