Finding Happiness in Unexpected Places

Angela Cook
3 min readJun 10, 2024
Photo by Will Paterson on Unsplash

I’m Jenny, a ordinary accountant, stuck in a mundane world of numbers.

Those days, my emotions were stagnant, and my life lost its color due to that marriage.

My family, if you could even call it that, was like a room without windows, lacking air and light.

Growing up in an ordinary family, my dad was strict, and my mom was gentle.

They always hoped I could have a stable future, so they hastily married me off to a man they thought was suitable at 25.

Initially, our marriage was uneventful but stable. He was an engineer, quiet and introverted, and we were like two parallel lines, sharing a roof but never truly intersecting.

For 10 years, we tried to have a child, but to no avail. This was a major stumbling block in our marriage and a significant reason for my decision to divorce.

After the divorce, I started my single life, free from quarrels and disappointments, with only myself to accompany me.

Until that sunny afternoon, I met a 70-year-old grandpa, Mr. Wang, in the park.

He wore an old cotton-padded jacket, his hat was pulled low, and he held a yellowed copy of “Dream of the Red Chamber,” reading with great relish.

--

--

Angela Cook

I'm a writer on a mission to captivate hearts and minds with my engaging content here on Medium.