Going against the niche

Angie Choinière
4 min readMay 9, 2022

--

Writing what I want to know vs what I know

Photo by Anita Jankovic on Unsplash

In elementary school, we had a visit from George Elliott Clark. I asked him a question about writing to which his response was immediately and permanently filed in my mind. I adhered to it without question, until recently. He said:

“…Write what you know.”

I completely see the merits of this advice and they are plenty. I would imagine that writing what you know cuts down on research. The authenticity of your piece is bound to resonate. The ability to capture the right emotions as you write about your own human experience like nobody else can, shines through. Knowledge adds weight to your words, especially in non-fiction. I don’t imagine readers will give up their time to read a book that is not built on the foundation of expertise.

Does writing what you know automatically niche you? Writing what I know would have cut me off as if installing a damn on my flow of inspiration if I stuck with what I “know”.

Life

How much could I write about in high school? I did have an interesting go of my 20’s. My childhood could provide a series worth of writing material.

I struggled with my knowledge base at that age and now recognize the divide between the knowledge I had and that of which I thought I had.

I can write about all of that now with much better insight, as Adeline Yen Mah said (and perhaps rephrased as the quote has been heavily modified and used);

„Though life has to be lived forward, it can only be understood backwards“

Career

Career choice as my niche? I could write about pharmacology, security or UX. That accounts for quite a few articles, I suppose.

I certainly don’t intend to bore everyone with 13 different articles about security screening. I may have one more interesting article left in me but even so, more as a background element in a short story.

Interests

My newly strengthened curiosity is piqued by many subjects of interests. Reading, writing, neuroscience (and its many facets), world religions, psychology (including social) trees, the matriarchal pods of orcas…the list goes on. Do I know a fair bit about each? Yes, some, but I know I want to know more. Enough to write about? To gain inspiration?

Inspiration

I had quite an imagination as a child that seemed to go dormant for awhile so I don’t remember being as curious as I am now. I can’t read an article here on Medium (or anywhere else) that doesn’t send me on internet travels consisting of multiple layovers. I draw so much inspiration from ideas but wonder what the threshold of writing what you know vs researching what you don’t. Is it influenced by genre?

How many people here are interested in only one topic, written or read? I may be taking G.E.C’s advice too literally but it invokes the panic and imposter syndrome immediately. What if I don’t know enough to write about. How interesting is my own knowledge base?

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

The writing trifecta

Knowledge, inspiration and niches; for some, a winning trifecta. There are many writers I enjoy immensely. Some are heavily niched and it feels like they figured themselves out. They know things for sure. I understand that they research heavily but they write as if they knew it all along. Others have successfully ventured out a time or two, while some of my favorites seem un-niched and master of all.

Marie Benedict writes about forgotten women in history, and tells her story in such a way you know this woman personally and revel in her contribution as if you were there. Fiona Davis’ stories are based on historical landmarks of New York City interwoven with gloriously immersive life stories.

Kristin Harmel writes beautifully about the personal hardships of war whereas Taylor Jenkins Reid’s inspiration is the lifestyles of the rich and famous.

Lisa Genova and Kimmery Martin are both medically niched based on their knowledge and they write stories that are equally informative and enjoyable.

Kristy Woodson Harvey and Lisa Scottoline both succeeded in their venture into the historical fiction genre after being known for their contemporary fiction or thriller niches respectively. Colleen Hoover, known exclusively for the romance genre successfully (to a monumental degree) wrote a thriller. They ventured out of their niches to see what was out there and what they could do. I, for one, am glad they did.

Kristin Hannah and Patti Callahan Henry seem to be able to seamlessly cross genres to tell their wonderful stories.

Going against the niche

As I look at my list of story ideas, both the ones that have been published here, as well as those that come to me as I read magical stories, try to fall asleep, take a shower, or overhear interesting tidbits at the café, I don’t see a niche in sight. Maybe I am making links that don’t connect. I have a voice but my knowledge is based solely on the inkling of a feeling that “I know” this is a story worth telling. I hope to succeed.

--

--

Angie Choinière

Mom/Wife/Lifetime Reader & Learner/Dog person/Tattoo Collector/Automation & UX Analyst