How To Make Reading Part Of Your Daily Routine

Angie Vincent
6 min readApr 25, 2022

--

Finding the books you love will help you establish a daily reading habit

Image by Angie

What sort of reader are you? Are you a reader at all?

Or are you a lapsed reader who finds it increasingly difficult to pick up a book when the magnetic pull of social media or the constant barrage of harrowing news makes it difficult to concentrate?

Are you a serial book buyer? The books look beautiful on your shelves, and you bought them with the best of intentions but somehow you just never quite get around to reading them.

There are so many distractions mostly in the form of our phones and tablets, that reaching for a book, rather than mindless scrolling can be challenging for even the most enthusiastic reader.

Reading has been a part of my life as long as I can remember. I clearly recall going to school proudly clutching a book which was basically just the alphabet with single words and pictures. But I had just learnt to read and I was very pleased with myself. My parents read themselves, and read to me, and I have read ever since. I suspect, barely a day in my life, and certainly my adult life has gone by when I haven’t read at least a few pages of a book.

Reading is part of my routine, it happens organically and provides a reliable rhythm to my day. I know if I haven’t had much time to read for a few days I begin to feel irritable. Reading gives me a stability which means I try to ensure I prioritise it, even if that does mean forgoing one more episode of Bridgerton in the evening.

Why Is Daily Reading A Good Idea?

I talked in a recent post about the positive mental health benefits of reading. Reading for just a few minutes a day can be enough to aid relaxation and reduce tension.

When it is just you, a cup of tea and your book you are transported to a different place or time, and when you are able to completely immerse yourself, then whatever else might be going on in your world takes second place.

Reading opens your mind to other points of view, other cultures and other ways of living. It gives you the tools to develop empathy and understanding and it educates you. Even if you only choose to read ‘light’ novels you are increasing your confidence as a reader

And if you are a writer, you gain so much from reading. It generates ideas and inspiration, it exposes you to different writing styles and expands your vocabulary. A regular reading habit forms the basis for many of my writing ideas

Read What You Enjoy

I should start by saying when it comes to the types of books you choose to read, I truly believe anything goes. I don’t hold onto the idea of ‘guilty reading’ sometimes associated with so called lighter books or so called genres such as ‘chick-lit’. I think the idea of both of these are demeaning to both reader and writer.

You may feel you should be reading the classics, but do you really want to? Will you look forward to picking up Great Expectations in the same way that you might look forward to a John Grisham or a Marian Keyes. If you are not enjoying what you read you won’t make time to read it.

Any book which brings you pleasure is a good book for you to read.

How To Read

Set Aside Reading Time

This is key I think. Gift yourself a regular time in your day when you will read. This is a time when you put the phone away, unless of course that is what you read on. As an aside, if you do read on your phone, then maybe turn off notifications whilst you are reading to prevent distraction. Give yourself over to your book. I always read before I go to sleep, but I also try to read with my lunch too.

Dedicating an hour a day at the weekend or on days when you are not working might be something you could also consider. Take yourself to a café with your book and treat yourself to half an hour of reading with your coffee.

Always Have a Book With You

Wherever you go ensure you have your book with you. There are so many opportunities when waiting for appointments, or on public transport, or when you find yourself waiting to meet someone when you can whip out a book. The more you do this, the more it becomes a natural thing to do.

Set Reading Goals

If you are a goal oriented person then setting reading goals is an excellent way to ensure you develop a regular reading habit. Your goals can be as rigid or loose as you like. Some readers decide to read a book a week or a month for a whole year. Others choose to read through a whole series by one author. Or you might want to consider working your way through something like the BBC’s Top 100 Reads.

Deciding What To Read

Shop Your Own Bookshelves

If you already own lots of books, take a good look at your bookshelves. Unless they were gifts, you must have bought these books for a reason. What was it about them that appealed to you, and does it still appeal to you now?

Browse Book Reviews

Book reviews in newspapers or magazines or from online blogs or book accounts on social media are a great place to find things you might like. There are a vast number of online book clubs these days. Find one which appeals to you. Reese Witherspoon runs a hugely popular book club in the US and The Royal Reading Room is popular in the UK. There are some fabulous bookish podcasts too which are where I often find book recommendations.

Personal Recommendation

Talk to friends and family who are bookish types. All book lovers are just desperate to share their favourite reads. By talking to people who really know you, you are likely to come away with some excellent recommendations.

Start Small

If you haven’t picked up a book in a while, then start small. Don’t pick up a 900 page C.J. Sansom, go for something shorter which feels achievable. If you are struggling to find you way back into reading, Quick Reads is a great place to start. These short books are designed to help readers find a route into reading that prioritises great storytelling. The books are written in an accessible and easy to read style by some of the most popular authors in the UK.

One of my favourite authors, Anne Tyler writes short but perfectly formed novels.

Short stories are another option. If you can’t face a full novel, consider trying some short stories.

Visit Libraries and Second Hand Bookshops

These are great sources of inspiration especially if you are just dipping your toe into the wonderful world of books and don’t want to spend lots of money. With a library you can take out a number of books by different authors to help you explore what you might like. Second hand book shops often stock books by some of the most popular authors and of course are much cheaper than buying from new.

Read Books About Places You Love

Finding books that have good associations for you is another way of finding books you may enjoy. I adore reading books about Cornwall and France, both places I love and have had many happy times in. I also love reading books set in London, where I live now, and in Norfolk where I was born. All of these resonate with me. When I travel I also love to read books set in the places I am visiting.

The more you read and the more you enjoy reading, the more you will want to read. Find books you love, prioritise a time in your day when you do nothing else but read and see what happens. You may find that very quickly, a daily reading habit has become part of your routine.

Many of my reading recommendations can be found Changing Pages

--

--

Angie Vincent

Lover of words, will never be found without a book about her person. Writer, Nurse, Blogger. Writes about reading, writing and, wellbeing sometimes altogether .