Seeking Solace From The Sea

Angie Vincent
3 min readApr 17, 2022

--

Restoring equilibrium and feeding creativity

Image by Angie Vincent

Although only a car ride away, I did not exactly grow up by the sea, and yet it has always featured in my life and more recently in my creative life.

When I am anxious or distressed it is by the sea I long to be. Almost the moment I arrive at the sea, I sense my shoulders drop, I relax and a calmness gradually seeps in

Mindfully focusing on the sounds of the sea, the smell, the regularity of the waves and the patterns on the surface of the water is a helpful way of slowing down. It is easy to become mesmerised by the waves repeatedly rolling in and out.

The predictable rhythm of the waves and calm gentle waters lead me to reflection and thoughtfulness.

Whereas the vitality found in wild rough seas are a reminder of the power of nature and fragility of life.

When by the ocean I often find myself focusing on the creation and creator of the sea, and its vastness across the planet. Beliefs on who this creator might be or how it was created may differ, but there can be little difference in opinions on the majesty and the wonder of this living breathing entity. I think about what we are doing to this beautiful gift with our penchant for plastic and our shoddy recycling.

Restored Energy

In the UK, the air by the sea is invariably fresh and brisk. The wind whips across the tops of foamy waves as they charge onto the shore. Sometimes it swirls and rages, at others it is sweet tempered and mild. This combination of air and sea is energising and invigorating.

Wild runs along the coastal path towards Lands End or from St Ives in Cornwall have been some of my most memorable.

I have been battered by winds and rain as I’ve tottered along the coastal path in Pembrokeshire whilst below the sea coughed and spluttered deeply as seals emerged from the waves, playful and skittish.

Being by the sea is good at any time of year. On a hot summers day when the sand is baking beneath tanned feet, a cool dip in the sea is an instant refreshment. Braving the chill of English waters gives a tingling exhilaration, and the warmth of Mediterranean or Caribbean seas is a cooling balm when days are thick with heat.

The taste of salt on the lips and tangled in hair, the tingling beneath the skin and the flushed cheeks; all evidence of the energetic nature of the sea. All this revives a tired, sluggish body.

Inspiring Creativity

Some of my most creatively productive times have been when staying by the sea. Whether it is the salty air, the particular light, or simply being surrounded by so much natural beauty, I always find myself longing to write when I am there. I guess this is not a new thing. Many writers have drawn inspiration from being beside the sea. The sea by its very nature contains an endless supply of stories in its hidden depths.

I don’t know how it is for you, but I always feel calmer, more connected with nature and physically and emotionally restored after time spent by the sea. For as long as I can, this is where I will continue to seek solace.

--

--

Angie Vincent

Lover of words, will never be found without a book about her person. Writer, Nurse, Blogger. Writes about reading, writing and, wellbeing sometimes altogether .