Software documentation is like sex

Anil Kumar Meena
2 min readJun 27, 2017

--

When’s it’s good, it’s really really good; when it’s bad, it’s better than nothing.

If you’re a software developer, documentations can be downright orgasmic.

Even if not orgasmic, well at least you don’t have to reinvent the wheel.

But for all the neophytes out there, it’s a piece of ancient cryptic text which can only be deciphered by the almighty.

I still remember when I first tried contributing to an open source organization. Boy oh boy, I spent two days just trying to get their code working on my machine. Their documentation was a disaster to me at that point.

Though I think the reason behind not-so-great documentations is simple.

Most coders hate documenting their code.

They love coding.

Not. Documenting.

And I always used to complain about bad documentations. Until I had to write one myself.

It’s simple, be glad that it exists.

--

--